The Dictionary of Crime Terms / Carl Sifakis
HV6017 .S54 2003 (Vic Ref)
Trouble Is their Business: Private Eyes in Fiction, Film and Television/ John Conquest
P96 .D4 C66 1990 (Vic Ref)
The Private Eye: Detectives in the Movies. / Bran Nicol.
PN1995.9 .D4 N53 (Vic Stacks)
The Art of the Mystery Story: A Collection of Critical Essays. Haycraft, Howard, ed.
PN3448 D4 A76 (Vic Stacks)
Many of the essays were written by leading writers of detective fiction, including Dorothy L. Sayers, Raymond Chandler, and John Dickson Carr.
Critical Survey of Mystery and Detective Fiction (5 vol.) / Frank N. Magil, ed.
PN3448 .D4 C75 2008 (Vic Ref)
Detective and Mystery Novelistsl / Carl Rollyson.
PN3448 .D4 D423 2012 (Vic Stacks)
Sleuths, Inc.: Studies of Problem Solvers, Doyle, Simenon, Hammett, Ambler, Chandler / Hugh Eames
PN3448 .D4 E2 (Vic Stacks)
Encyclopedia of Mystery & Detection/ Chris Steinbrunner & Otto Penzler, eds.
PN3448 .D4 E5 (Robarts Stacks and Trinity Ref)
The Crime Fiction Handbook / Peter B. Messent
PN3448 .D4 M435 2013 (Vic Stacks)
Encyclopedia of Murder and Mystery / Bruce Murphy
PN 3448 .D4 M87 1999 (Robarts Ref)
The Poetics of Murder: Detective Fiction and Literary Theory / Glenn W. Most
PN3448 .D4 P54 1983 (Vic Stacks)
Foul & Fair Play: Reading Genre in Classic Detective Fiction / Marty Roth
PN3448 .D4 R66 1995 (Robarts Stacks)
Bloody Murder: From the Detective Story to the Crime Novel: A History / Julian Symons
PN3448 .D4 S87 1992 (Vic Stacks)
Detecting detection: international perspectives on the uses of a plot / Baker, Peter
PN3377.5 .D4 D48 2012
Talking about Detective Fiction / P. D. James.
PN3377.5 .D4 J25 2009 (Vic Stacks)
British crime writing : an encyclopedia / Barry Forshaw, ed.
PR19 .B67 2009 (Vic Ref)
Reader’s Guide to Literature in English / Mark Hawkins-Dady, Ed.
PR85 .R42 1996 (Vic Ref)
The Figure of the Detective: a Literary History and Analysis. / Charles Brownson
PR830 .D4 B76 2014 (Vic Stacks)
Crime Fiction / John Scaggs
PR830 .C74 S28 2005 (Vic Stacks)
Dictionary of British Literary Characters / John R. Greenfield, Ed.
PR830 .C47 D5 1993 (Vic Ref)
Great British Fictional Detectives
PR830 .D4 J363 2008 (Vic Ref)
Mystery & Suspense Writers: the Literature of Crime Detection and Espionage / Robin W. Winks and M. Corrigan, eds.
PR830 .D43 M97 1998 (Vic Ref)
Cambridge Companion to Crime Fiction / Martin Priestman
PR830.D4 C36 2003 (Vic Stacks)
Victorian Crime, Madness and Sensation / Andrew Maunder and Grace Moore, Eds.
PR878 .C74 V53 2004 (Vic Stacks)
Twentieth-century Crime Fiction / Lee Horsley
PR888 .D4 H67 2005 (Vic Stacks)
St. James Guide to Crime and Mystery Writers / Jay P. Pederson and Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf, Eds.
PR888 .D4 S24 1996 (Vic Ref)
Detecting Canada: Essays on Canadian Crime Fiction, Television, and Film / Jeannette Sloniowski and Marilyn Rose, Eds.
PR9197.35 .D4 2014 (Vic Stacks)
After Sherlock Holmes: the Evolution of British and American Detective Stories, 1891-1914 / LeRoy Lad Panek
PR830 .D4 P336 2014 (Vic Stacks)
Murder Will Out: The Detective in Fiction / T. J. Binyon
PS374 .D4 B56 1990 (Vic Stacks)
Class and Culture in Crime Fiction: Essays on Works in English since the 1970s. / Julie H. Kim, Ed.
PS374 .D4 C48 2014 (Vic Stacks)
History of Mystery/ Collins, Max Allan.
PS374 .D4 C59 2001 (Vic Stacks)
Hardboiled Mystery Writers: Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, Ross McDonald: A Literary Reference / Matthew J. Bruccoli and Richard Layman, eds.
PS374 .D4 H375 2002 (Vic Ref)
100 American Crime Writers / Steven Powell, ed.
PS374 .D4 O5 2012 (Vic Ref)
The Origins of the American Detective Story/ Leroy Panek.
PS374 .D4 P33 2006 (Vic Stacks)
Crime Fiction from Poe to the Present / Martin Priestman.
PS374 .D4 P75 2013 (Vic Stacks)
Crime Fiction IV, a Comprehensive Bibliography 1749-2000 / Allen J. Hubin.
Z2014 .F4 H8 (Vic Ref)
Reference and Research Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction / Richard Bleiler.
Z5917 .D5 B59 2004 (Vic Ref)
Make Mine a Mystery II: a Reader’s Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction / Gary Warren Niebuhr.
Has a subject index, which identifies books by type of setting (medical, academia, etc.) and a locations index which lists titles by geographical setting.
Z5917 .D5 N54 2011 (Vic Stacks)
Use a reference source, such as a subject encyclopedia or dictionary, to help get started with your research.
- Get background information on your topic, along with some basic facts, such as names, dates, places, events.
- Identify terms and vocabulary to create well-focused searches.
- Look for bibliographies and suggested readings to locate additional resources on your topic.
A Companion to Crime Fiction / Charles J. Rzepka, Lee Horsley
The Cambridge Companion to American Crime Fiction Cambridge / Catherine Ross Nickerson (ed.)
Crime Culture: Figuring Criminality in Fiction and Film / Bran Nicol.
Classic Crime and Suspense Writers / Harold Bloom
Crime Fiction / John Scaggs
Detective Fiction / Anne Humpherys
Bibliography of critical works useful in understanding the genre and its
early history. Some of the practitioners of detective fiction identify its
context and recurrent themes.
Classic Mystery Writers / Harold Bloom
Gumshoe America : Hard-boiled Crime Fiction and the rise and Fall of New Deal Liberalism / Sean McCann.
Hardboiled & high heeled: the Woman Detective in Popular Culture / Linda Mizejewski.
The Cambridge History of the American Novel./ Leonard Cassuto.
British Mystery and Thriller Writers since 1960 / Gina Macdonald, ed.
St. James guide to crime & mystery writers / Jay P. Pederson, ed.
Murder by the book?: Feminism and the Crime Novel / Sally R. Munt.
100 American Crime Writers / Steven Powell.
Detective and mystery stories Authorship
Detective and mystery stories History criticismand
Detective and mystery stories Technique
Crime in literature
Detective and mystery films--History and criticism
Detective and mystery stories, American--History and criticism
Detective and mystery stories, British--History and criticism
Look up an author as “subject” in the catalogue (or article database)