Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Database help in the sciences and health sciences

Help with MEDLINE, PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus, CINAHL, Google Scholar, etc.

WEB OF SCIENCE

Web of Science

A major multidisciplinary journal article database. Web of Science covers all the sciences plus social science and arts & humanties. It can be searched as a database in the usual manner. But you can also uniquely search the citation indexes for articles that cite a known author or work

Quick reference sheet

Search tips for Web of Science

Learn tips to help you search Web of Science effectively, including tips on using search operators and wildcard characters

Cited Reference Searching

Cited reference searching enables researchers to explore the works (articles, reviews, letters) that cite a particular article or author. This unique search capability can help researchers to improve their research, as it enables them to locate articles that have cited (and are relevant to the topic of) an article in hand.

Learn the basics of Web of Science's powerful citation search capabilities with the video below.

Citation Report and H-index

  • h-index is calulated based on a scholar's most cited papers and the number of citations that they have received. This provides a numerical measurement of the impact of a published work by a particular scholar.

Learn how to quickly create and export a report that details citation activity to an author's publications. Each Web of Science citation report includes a calculated h-index which is also discussed in this presentation.

Citation Map

Create interactive maps of an article's citation data to visualize trends.

Citation Alerting

Learn how to keep up to date on who is citing your work or the work of others within your field of research.

Exporting Bibliographic Records

  • export, print, email and save records
  • export/save to EndNote, RefWorks and other citation management software

Saving to RefWorks

Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts

Save your histories and receive email alerts to your desktop.

Web of Science and Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search for records and find times cited counts as well as full text records through Web of Science with on-campus use.