Skip to main content

History of Science and Medicine: A Source Guide

This guide includes a selection of resources, both print and electronic, covering both the history of science and of medicine. It attempts to create an awareness of sources of information both traditional and beyond.

Landmarks of Science

A microform collection held at the Media Commons, 3rd floor, Robarts Library.

 

Landmarks of Science is a major set of reproductions of rare and valuable works relating to science and medicine, of which few copies exist in paper.  The Media Commons houses the complete set in its various formats: microcard, microfilm and microfiche.

Landmarks of Science includes a microfiche collection (Landmarks of Science & Landmarks II Monographs) encompassing five centuries of printed scientific literature, as well as a microfilm collection (Landmarks II-Scientific Journals) featuring material back to the 17th century. It provides thousands of publications tracing the histories of science, technology, western civilization and various ideas. It is ideal for tracing the development of scientific principles. The collection also facilitates multidisciplinary studies across such curricula as history, languages, philosophy, astronomy, music and science.

Monographs
Landmarks of Science & Landmarks II is a comprehensive library of works that spans the history of science—from the beginning of printing into the early 20th century. It includes first editions of famous scientific works, which are complemented by the scientific literature that surrounds them: later, influential editions; translations; works by the less-famous scientists; scientific textbooks; biographies of scientists and bibliographies of scientific work. The predominant languages represented are English, French, German, Latin and Italian, but works in many other languages appear. An attempt has been made to include contemporary English translations when available. There is no duplication between Landmarks of Science and its continuation, Landmarks II.

Journals
Landmarks II-Scientific Journals was created to make available the periodical literature of science, from the beginning of scientific journals in the second half of the 17th century through the 19th century.

Taken from the Readex site: http://www.readex.com/readex/product.cfm?product=23