Skip to main content

History of Science and Medicine: A Source Guide

This guide includes a selection of resources, both print and electronic, covering both the history of science and of medicine. It attempts to create an awareness of sources of information both traditional and beyond.

Sky Surveys, Northern and Southern Hemispheres

Aurora Borealis

Aurora Borealis

Auroras are caused by the passage of electricity through the rare air of the upper regions.

The Palomar Observatory Sky Survey (photographic record of the Northern Hemisphere)

Palomar Sky Survey (POSS I), Palomar Observatory, California, U.S.A. 1948-1958

A collection of 1872 glass plates 14 inches X 14 inches

This collection is housed in Gerstein in room B126 in 4 cabinets, along with 2 light box devices used to view the plates.

 Palomar Sky Survey (POSS II)

POSS II was designed as a northern complement to the U.K. Schmidt survey using 897 plates in each of three wavebands on IIIaJ (blue), IIIaF (red) and IVN (near infrared) plates, respectively.

This collection is housed in Gerstein in B122K, just outside of room B126.  The films also require use of the light boxes to view the film copies.

 ESO/SERC (European Southern Observatory/Science and Engineering Research Council Southern Sky Survey) (photographic record of the Southern Hemisphere)

This survey is the southern sky complement of the first and second Palomar sky surveys.  Chile, 1974-1987       

The collection is comprised of 14 inch X 14 inch film: there are 606 slides of B (Quick Blue Survey), 617 slides of R (red), and 609 slides of J (also blue).

The following notes the actual observation dates of the plates composing the ESO(B) Survey over in the period 1973/79, the ESO Red survey, observed in the period 1978/90, and the SRC-J survey at the Anglo-Australian telescope in the period 1974/1987.

This collection is housed in Gerstein in 4 cabinets in B122K, just outside room B126.  These too require use of the light box devices to view the film copies.

Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, Special Collections

The following titles of past exhibitions indicate areas of strength in the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library.  There are catalogues associated with many of them.

Ars medica: medical illustration through the ages [2006]

Art on the Wing: British, American and Canadian Illustrated Bird Books from the Eighteenth to the Twentieth Century [1999]

Book Illustration in the Natural Sciences [1974]

Botanical Illustration [1985]

Botany and Early Medicine [1973]

Charles Darwin: A Centenary Exhibition in Commemoration of the Life and Work of Charles Robert Darwin, 1809-1882 [1982]

Dental Roots: A History of Dentistry from Early Times to the Nineteenth Century [1986]

The Discovery of Insulin at the University of Toronto: an exhibition celebrating the 75th anniversary [1996]

The Early History of Medicine [1974]

Endless Forms Most Beautiful: The Natural History of Charles Darwin [2009]

Galileo and Scientific Controversy [1981]

In Pursuit of Natural Knowledge": Natural History Exploration in the 18th and 19th Centuries [1979]

J.B. Tyrrell: Explorer and Adventurer: the Geological Survey years, 1881-1898 [1993]

Jason A. Hannah Collection in the History of Medical and Related Sciences [1981]

Some Canadian Ornithologists [1981]

Tending the Young: From the T.G.H. Collection on the History of Paediatrics An exhibition held at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library [1997]

Women Artists and Botanical Illustration in the Nineteenth Century [1993]


Anatomia - a Fisher Library site

   
As the web site states, "This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto. Each illustration has been fully indexed using medical subject headings (MeSH), and techniques of illustration, artists, and engravers have been identified whenever possible. There are ninety-five individual titles represented, ranging in date from 1522 to 1867."