Skip to main content

VIC119: Myths and Legends in Modern Contexts

A guide created for students of Vic119, Ancient Narratives in Modern Contexts.

Abstracts & Indexes

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography

*database coverage is from 1963 to the present

*international in scope; may require limiting by language

*some citations link to full-text articles in e-journals licensed to U of T

*Index and Thesaurus assist in identifying terminology used in the database

*use wildcard symbols (* to represent multiple characters  and ? for single characters ) to expand search results

 

Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly

A major database for Canadian topics, covering other topics as they appear in Canadian journals and magazines. CPI.Q provides access to a broad range of journals and magazines, mainly published in Canada. It includes the full text of selected sections of The Globe and Mail from 1997+.  Among the many subjects covered, CPI. Q includes literature by region.

 

 Humanities Abstracts

An important database for searching for articles in the Humanities published primarily in the United States from 1984 onwards.

 Arts and Humanities Citation Index 

 

*coverage is 1975 to the present

*good for locating articles in which a particular author has been cited or viewing references to cited works in a specific subject

*no abstracts

*as a rule, enter author’s name as: Smith C* (to capture either Smith C or Smith CE or Smith CES etc.)

 

Periodicals Index Online

An index to the contents of thousands of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published from the latter part of the seventeenth century (1685 is the earliest citation date) to the latter part of the twentieth century. It's possible to view and access other articles within the same issue of a journal for related material.

 

Old Testament Abstracts

Provides Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archeology, biblical theology, and philology.

 

 ATLA Religion Database

Produced by the American Theological Library Association this is a major international index for religion. ATLA covers all scholarly fields of religion. Journals, selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope, represent all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and include numerous language groups. A unique search option is the ability to search for information on Scripture passages.

 

 

E-Texts and Criticism

Literature Online

A resource for electronic texts, this database can be used to access the King James Version of the bible as well as literary criticism appearing in full-text journal articles.

 

Literature Resource Center

An online index to criticism published in scholarly journals of a broad range of international literary works.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search