The major database for world history from 1450 to the present. Historical Abstracts excludes Canada and the United States, which are covered by “America: History and Life”. Historical Abstracts covers the world’s scholarly literature in History including articles from over 2,000 journals as well as citations to books, articles in books, and dissertations.
Covers over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable.In most cases recently published issues of journals (past 3-5 years) are NOT available in JSTOR. This is a huge multidisciplinary collection, remember to narrow your search. You can limit to specific collections (Middle East Studies, Religion and History), limit to type of material (article) and look for keywords in a specifc field (searches automatically for fulltext unless you change it).
A major interdisciplinary database for the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 300-1500. IMB: International Medieval Bibliography covers articles published in journals and miscellany volumes worldwide. Topics covered include General Subjects, Arts, Environment and Population, Institutions and Politics, Language and Literature, Philosophy and Intellectual History, Religion, Science and Medicine, and Social and Economic History. Searches can be done by subject, geographical area, persons, families, texts, manuscripts and chronological range.
Provides access to publications on the Middle Ages, 400-1500, and Renaissance, 1300-1700. Note: It looks like the 'old' U of T catalogue, however it is just using the older software. If you are looking for full text of articles in this database check the upper right hand corner for a red "check for full text" link
A major index to Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, past and present, providing access to worldwide literature in European languages. Records included in the database cover almost a hundred years of publications on the world of Islam.
Unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Africa-Wide: NiPAD includes content from three databases: African Studies, South African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. The database is an essential resource for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa. Consists of over 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.