Skip to main content

Canadian provincial & territorial parliamentary publications

Research note

Nunavut was originally part of the Northwest Territories. 

In 1976, the Canadian govenrment began negoitations with the Inuit Taprisat of Canada (an Inuit non-profit organization) to divide the Northwest Territories and provide a separate territory for Canada's Inuit populations.

Nunavut was founded as a separate territory in 1999.

To widen your research scope, you may find it helpful to check the Northwest Territories page for resources.



Standing & Special Committees


Note: certain statutes enforced in Nunavut remain cited as the original statute in the Northwest Territories. The Nunavut Court of Justice provides helpful information on how to cite this legislation.