Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Information Resources and your Professional Association

Ontario Phsyiotherapy Association

You can obtain membership in the OPA by joining CPA as an Ontario based physiotherapist.

Hooked on Evidence

Hooked on Evidence is the American Physical Therapy Association's database containing current research evidence on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions. The Hooked on Evidence project was motivated by a concern that clinicians lacked access to the knowledge available from current research, thus hindering evidence-based practice.

APTA members are provided access to Hooked on Evidence as a benefit of membership.
International Partners for $50 (2012) per year - for foreign-educated (i.e. non-US) physical therapists who live outside the US

Information Benefits

  • Physical Therapy (PTJ)
  • PT in Motion magazine
  • Open Door
  • Hooked on Evidence

Canadian Physiotherapy Association

Full Members are:

  • Physiotherapist graduates of accredited physiotherapy programs in Canada
  • Physiotherapists who hold, or have held, full registration or licensure anywhere in Canada
  • Graduates of recognized physiotherapy programs who hold a current full- or part-time academic faculty appointment at an accredited Canadian physiotherapy university program

Information Benefits

  • Physiotherapy Canada, one of the top five evidence-based journals of physiotherapy worldwide
  • Full access to EBSCO’s Rehabilitation Reference Center

Open Access Physiotherapy Databases

The Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) is a free database of over 22,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.

(NARIC) Instant Disability Information Center
The information resources at this site include the NARIC Knowledgebase; RehabData, a database of disability and rehabilitation literature abstracts; the NIDRR (National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research) Program Directory which lists disability and rehabilitation research projects in the United States; and the Knowledge Dissemination and Utilization page which links to additional research databases funded by NIDRR.