Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Information Resources and your Professional Association

Ontario Medical Association (OMA)

OMA does not offer information resources to medical student or resident members. Physicians have access to OntarioMD beginning with their first year of practice.

Information Benefits

  • Subscription to Ontario Medical Review
  • Access to OntarioMD (a subsidiary of the Ontario Medical Association)

The OntarioMD.ca portal is a collection of online resources that offers physicians and staff members access to evidence-based patient care information, including:

  • Drug search (e-CPS, ODB e-Formulary, Adverse Reactions)
  • Physician directory
  • Full-Text access to medical journals
  • Clinical practice guidelines, patient handouts, forms and flow sheets
  • collaboration tools through OntarioMD Groups to share information with colleagues

Canadian Medical Association

You must be a member of your provincial or territorial medical association to join the CMA or renew your membership.


Information Benefits

Access to Knowledge for Practice (K4P), which currently delivers clinical resources, including point-of-care tools, ebooks and ejournals, as well as accredited online learning. The collection evolves to meet the needs of members.

  • Point of care resources: DynaMed, MDConsult, LexiComp Online, ACP PIER, Essential Evidence Plus, 5-Minute Clinical Consult, MedCalc 3000, Diagnostic Tests, Drug Information and Alerts, Quick Answers
  • Anatomy.tv
  • Ebooks: Harrison's Online, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Williams Obstetrics, ACS Surgery, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, MDConsult collection, AccessMedicine (60 textbooks), Stat!Ref (7 textbooks)
  • Full-text ejournal collection: CMAJ, CMAJ Clinical Shorts, EBSCOhost Biomedical Reference Collection, MDConsult journals
  • MEDLINE and other databases: Ovid MEDLINE, Cochrane Library, Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs), PubMed, EBSCOhost MEDLINE
  • Patient information: MDConsult, AccessMedicine, MedlinePlus
  • Clinical email programs: InfoPOEMs, Conference Updates, CardioCLIPs, In Practice
  • Librarian services - Ask a CMA Librarian: conduct Medline searches, help to plan search strategies or provide assistance and guidance in using the CMA's clinical resources
  • Click on Browse by: Alphabetical list to see all resources at K4P

Provincial and Territorial Divisions of the CMA

  • The 12 provincial and territorial medical associations are divisions of the CMA but are autonomous, with specific responsibilities in their provincial/territorial jurisdictions.  Contact information and links