Skip to main content

Gender and International Relations

How to find primary sources

1. Start with what you know: You may uncover references to valuable primary sources in your textbook, course notes, or bibliographies from your journal articles and other secondary sources.

2. Use the library catalogue to find books and other kinds of primary sources in the library collection.

Do a keyword search for your topic, and include one of the following keywords:

  • sources
  • documents
  • texts
  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • interviews
  • pamphlets
  • personal narratives 

 3.  Use reliable online text collections

UTL Online Text Collections

For government, international organization, and inter-governmental organizations see the appropriate tabs. For a more comprehensive list of primary source databases, go to the library home page, and select Subjects A to Z. Choose a subject. Primary source databases for each subject will be listed on the Text collections tab. Or, see Primary Source Databases for Historical Research.  

Media Commons

The Microform collection is rich in historical documents and publications. It is located in the Media Commons on the 3rd floor of Robarts Library. Machines are available to read or print these materials. You will find some of our microfilm and microfiche titles listed in the library catalogue, followed by the word [microform]. Guides are also available in binders on the public service desk in the Media Commons:

Microform Collections Online Guide

Lists collections in alphabetical order by title. A binder at the public service desk in the Media Commons lists collections by Subject. For example, you could look up "Goldman, Emma," or "History -- Africa" as subjects.

Newspaper & Periodicals Online Guide 

Lists collections in microform. Newspapers and periodicals are listed alphabetically by Country Province (where applicable) / City.