Skip to main content

Gender and International Relations

Find books in the library catalogue on the library home page

Enter your keywords in the search box. Keep the keywords simple. Examples:
 
Topic: What methods did Africans use to resist slavery?

slavery resistance

slavery resistance united states

 
Topic: How did members of the three religions, Christianity, Judaism, and Islam, relate to one another in Muslim-ruled Spain.

          christians jews muslims spain

Library catalogue


Get better results

Our catalogue looks a bit like shopping for your tablet or ipod. You can use the side menu to narrow down your choices.

In this example, for your search on the topic of resistance to slavery, you could choose a library like Robarts, narrow down to online resources, or focus your subject, choosing the United States for example. Choose View more for additional subjects.

For e-books, you can also click on online at the top of the page.


For history, being able to choose your language can be very helpful. For example, for books on the Portuguese in India:

Image of language limit, showing the choice of English or Portuguese books.


If you want to see the most recent books at the top of the list, choose publication date.

Image of top menu, showing publication date option.


   View an online tutorial (from the Criminology Library) for a demonstration on using the catalogue.

How to find the book in the library

1. Look up the title in the library catalogue.

2. Holdings tells you what library it is in, as well as the call number. Note the call number: E76.7 .K68 2009

3. Enter the elevators on the 1st floor of Robarts Library.

The books at Robarts are on the 9th to 13th floor. You can tell which floor you need by the letters at the beginning of the call number. A chart on the elevator tells you which call numbers are on which floor. In this case, E is on the 10th floor, with most other history books.

4. Once you are on the floor, find the section with the correct letters. The work your way through each line of the call number.

5. To sign out your book, take it back to the 1st floor and use one of the automatic machines. If you need help, as at the loan services desk.

See a video on finding books at Robarts. It also includes tips on what to do if you don't find your book.

Other Library Catalogues

1. Other Library Catalogues List

The UTL Web site provides an Other Library Catalogue list with links to selected local, Canadian, and International Library catalogues, as well as union catalogues, databases that allow you to search multiple catalogues at once, and periodical lists. To access the list, place your mouse over the Resources & Research tab on the library home page, and then slide to the bottom of the list. 

2. Amicus

Amicus combines the catalogue of the National Library of Canada, with content from over 1300 Canadian libraries. This is the most important source for identifying Canadian publications. 

3. WorldCat 

International union list combining the catalogues of many academic libraries. Very strong on US content but includes some catalogues from other countries.

Bibliographies & Other Libraries

Use bibliographies to find out what has been published on a topic. Bibliographies generally cover books; they may also include references to audio-visual materials, journals, book chapters, theses, and other materials. 

Catalogues of other libraries and collections, particularly union catalogues like Amicus and Worldcat, can also be a fruitful method of identifying relevant material. 

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have a book, or article at the U of T Libraries, members of the U of T community can request it from other libraries through our interlibrary loan department. There is a charge for ordering journal articles. Register at the RACER Web site and use the online request form included.

Get the mobile app