Skip to main content

19th Century Resources

Page contents

Categories of resources on this page:

  • Bibliographic guides
  • Primary sources
  • Primary sources: "Radical Periodicals of Great Britain, 1794-1914"
  • Primary sources: Early British Periodicals
  • Secondary sources

Bibliographic guides

English literary periodicals, 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries [a guide to the contents] 

  • Z6956 .E5 E5 in Microtext Collection, Media Commons, Robarts Library

The nineteenth-century periodical press in Britain : a bibliography of modern studies, 1901-1971 

  • Z6956 .G6 M3

The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals 

  • Periodicals and newspapers published in England from 1800 to 1900, providing references to 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies, and 756 subjects
  • All subjects are covered, providing a valuable record of cultural, economic, social, and scientific history of the Victorian era
  • Edited by John S. North, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario

The Waterloo directory of English newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900 

  • Z6956 .E5 W38 1997

The Waterloo directory of Irish newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900 

  • Z6956 .I7 N67 1986

The Waterloo directory of Scottish newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900 

  • Z6956 .S36 N67 1989

The Waterloo directory of Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900 

  • Z6956 .G6 W383 1970z

Union list of Victorian serials : a Union list of selected nineteenth-century British serials available in United States and Canadian libraries 

  • Z6956 .G6 U55 1985

Victorian periodicals : a guide to research 

  • PN5124 .P4 V54

Primary sources

19th Century UK Periodicals Series 1: New Readerships 

19th Century UK Periodicals Series 2: Empire 

Newspapers from the Russian revolutionary era 

  • DK N487 1983 Microtext Collection, Robarts Library

Nineteenth century American music periodicals

  • ML1 .N56

Nineteenth-century British periodicals 

  • Also available in reels at AP4 .N585

Primary sources: "Radical Periodicals of Great Britain, 1794-1914"

Radical Periodicals of Great Britain, 1794-1914

The library has an extensive collection of primary sources documenting British socialism between 1794-1914.

The collection totals 1138 fiches, and is available through the Microtext Collection, Media Commons, Robarts Library.

The library divides the collection into the following categories:

Part 1: Protest Literature of the Industrial Revolution

Part 2: Marxism and the Machine Age

Primary sources: Early British Periodicals

Early British Periodicals

The library contains a rich collection of early British periodicals, on 902 reels, in Robart's Media Commons.

You can locate titles as follows:

  • Search the library catalogue for "Early British Periodicals" as so:

  • After you click the search button, and your results are displayed, refine your results by selecting Media Commons, on the left side of the screen, as so:

  • Browse through the displayed results to find an entry relevant to your research
  • To confirm an entry is part of the Early British Periodicals series, check the details tab in the item's catalogue record as so:

Secondary sources

Nineteenth Century French Studies 
 
Nineteenth-Century Contexts: An Interdisciplinary Journal 

  • Unique journal that draws comparisons between the 19th century and present-day geopolitical movements
  • Scope is not limited to any region or cultural area

Nineteenth-Century Fiction

Nineteenth-Century Literature
 
The Trollopian