Skip to main content

19th Century Resources

Page contents

Categories of resources on this page:

  • Primary sources
  • Secondary sources
  • General science resources
  • Exploration

Medicine: primary sources

A bibliography of Canadian medical periodicals, with annotations

  • Z6660 .M3

American medical periodicals, 1797-1900 

  • R11 .A56 1986
  • Depicts the evolution of medicine in America and provides a view into 19th-century American life
  • All aspects of 19th-century American medical thought and development are represented in this comprehensive collection of over 1,200 contemporary periodicals


Anatomia 1522-1867: Anatomical Plates from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library 

  • Features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto
  • Each illustration has been fully indexed using medical subject headings (MeSH), and techniques of illustration, artists, and engravers are identified whenever possible
  • There are ninety-five individual titles represented, ranging in date from 1522 to 1867

Canadian medical journals, 1826-1910 

  • R C353 1982 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

Early American medical imprints, 1668-1820 

  • R128.7 .E48 1973 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

Early American medical imprints, 1668-1820 : subject, name, and format index to the microfilm collection 

  • Z6661 .U5 A44 Suppl.

Landmarks II : monographs 

  • Includes first editions of famous scientific works, which are complemented by the scientific literature that surrounds them: later, influential editions; translations; works by the less-famous scientists; scientific textbooks; biographies of scientists; and bibliographies of scientific work
  • The predominant languages represented are English, French, German, Latin and Italian, but works in many other languages appear
  • An attempt has been made to include contemporary English translations when available
  • Note: no duplication between Landmarks of Science and its continuation Landmarks II

Landmarks II : scientific journals 

  • Q L5553 Microform
  • Started to make available the periodical literature of science, from the beginning of scientific journals in the second half of the 17th century through the 19th century

Science in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical 

  • A searchable electronic index to the science content of sixteen 19th century general periodicals

General science resources

19th Century Masterfile 

  • The Catalogue of Scientific Papers 1800-1900: Mechanics, Physics, Mathematics is included in Series I: Multi-Title Periodical Indexes

Exploration

Arctic explorations and discoveries during the nineteenth century (Making of America)

The Barren Lands digital collection

  • Covers J.B Tyrrell and James Tyrrell's exploration in northern Saskatchewan and Manitoba, and southern Nunavut
  • Resources are from Tyrrell collections, and includes over 5,000 images from original field notebooks, correspondence, photographs, maps, and published reports
  • Produced by University of Toronto Libraries