Skip to main content

19th Century Resources

Page contents

Categories of resources on this page:

  • American
  • British and Irish
  • Canadian
  • English language resources

American

The Nineteenth Century in Print: The Making of America in Books and Periodicals 

  • Comprises books and periodicals published in the United States during the 19th century, primarily during 1850+
  • Materials support studies in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology; also includes volumes of American poetry
  • Majority of materials digitized during the "Making of America" project, a collaboration of Cornell University and the University of Michigan to preserve textual materials on deteriorating paper and make them accessible electronically

British and Irish

19th Century British Pamphlets by Research Libraries UK (RLUK)

  • Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries
  • Note that pamphlets are an excellent resource: they were an important means of public debate, and covered the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day

19th Century Fiction 

  • A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s
  • Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature

Canadian

Canadian Pamphlets and Broadsides

  • Provides access to the pre-1930 Canadian pamphlet and broadside holdings of the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library; users can view page images in full colour, and have full search access to the contents of each item
  • Currently, the site consists of 596 broadsides (single sheets, printed on one or both sides) and 594 pamphlet titles which amounts to 21,638 page images
  • Additional titles are added on a regular basis
  • The collection includes items printed in Canada, by Canadian authors, or about Canadian subjects, mainly of a non-literary nature

Early Canadiana Online (ECO) 

  • Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a digital library providing access to over 1,671,000 pages of Canada's printed heritage
  • Features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th Century

English language resources

The Nineteenth Century 
  • Thirty-year publishing programme which reproduces on microfiche a significant proportion of English-language works first published between 1801-1900
  • Emphasizes the preservation of materials in the British Library, especially items published after the introduction of wood pulp paper in 1845
  • This database is an index to the microfiche collection which you will find in at DA533 .N55 1986 Microtext Collection, Robarts Library