Skip to main content

19th Century Resources

About the Wellesley Index

The emerging periodical medium produced a massive amount of published material in the 19th century.  In fact, many eminent 19th century journalists and authors got their literary start through periodicals.

However, many authors chose to publish anonymously, or use pseudonyms. 

The Wellesley Index is a valuable resource that provides author information on these previously unattributed works. 

Additionally, the index also provides citations of evidence to support author attribution, and includes brief biographical and vocational details where possible. 

This list includes periodicals indexed in The Wellesley, as well as the university's holdings.  Note that unlinked items are not available through UTL.

Wellesley periodicals

Ainsworth's magazine; a miscellany of romance general literature and art 

  • AP A4 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The Atlantis
 
Bentley's miscellany

Bentley's quarterly review 

  • Z1035 .A1 B45 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

Blackwood's magazine 

British Critic 

British Quarterly Review

  • Rare Oversize--PER Victoria University, E.J. Pratt Library

The British and foreign review; or, European quarterly journal 

  • AP B753 Microtext Collections, Media Commons

Contemporary review 

  • AP4 .C7

The Cornhill magazine 

  • Some issues are online; also available at AP4 .C76 Stacks, Robarts Library

The Dark blue 

  • AP4 .D25 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The Dublin review

  • AP4 .D79

Dublin University Magazine
 
The Eclectic review 

  • AP E343 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

Edinburgh Review; or, Critical Journal (1802-1900) 

Foreign Quarterly Review (American Edition)

The Foreign review 

  • AP4 .F692 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The Fortnightly 

  • AP 4 .F7 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

Fraser's magazine 

  • AP4 .F8

The Home and foreign review

  • AP H664 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The London Quarterly Review

  • Note the title's variations: 
    • Sept. 1853-Jan. 1858, The London quarterly review
    • Apr. 1858-July 1862, The London review
    • 1932, The London quarterly review
  • AP4 .L488

The London review 

  • AP L6673 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The London review 

  • J-10 00283 Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library

The London and Westminster review

  • The Wellesley Index uses London and Westminster Review (1836-1840)
  • Note the title's variations: 
    • Apr. 1836-Mar. 1840, The London and Westminster review
    • Oct. 1846-Oct. 1851, The Westminster and foreign quarterly review
  • Also available in print at AP4 .W5

Longman's magazine

Macmillan's magazine

  • Also available at AP4 .M2

The Modern Review: A Quarterly Magazine
 
The Monthly chronicle; a national journal of politics, literature, science, and art 

  • AP M664 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The National review

  • AP4 .N33 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The National review

  • PER Victoria University E.J. Pratt Library

The New monthly magazine

  • Note the title's variations: 
    • Feb. 1814-Dec. 1820, The New monthly magazine, and universal register 
    • 1821-36, The New monthly magazine and literary journal
    • Jan. 1837-Dec. 1852, The New monthly magazine and humorist (varies)
  • AP4 .N45 Stacks, Robarts Library
  • Also available at AP N458 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The New quarterly magazine (1873-1880) 

  • AP N459 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The new review (1889-1897) 

  • AP4 .N47 Stacks, Robarts Library
  • Library has: v. 1, no. 1(June 1889)-17, no. 103(Dec. 1897)

The twentieth century (1877-1900) 

  • Many issues vailable online; also available in print at AP4 .T9 Stacks, Robarts Library
  • Note the title's variations: 
    • 1877-1900, The Nineteenth century 
    • 1901-1950, The Nineteenth century and after

The North British review (1844-1871) 

  • AP4 .N6 Stacks, Robarts Library

The Oxford and Cambridge magazine ... Conducted by members of the two universities (1856) 

  • AP O756 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The Prospective review; a quarterly journal of theology and literature (1845-1855) 

  • BR P767 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

The Quarterly review (1824-1900) 

  • AP4 .Q2
  • Library has: 1(1809)-305(1967)

The Rambler (1848-1862) 

  • AP R363

The Saint Pauls magazine (1867-1874) 

  • AP S359 Microtext Collection, Media Commons
  • Library has: v. 1-14, no. [3]

Scottish Review (1882-1900) 

Tait's Edinburgh magazine (1832-1855) 

  • AP T248 Microtext Collection, Media Commons

Temple Bar (1860-1900) 

  • AP4 .T4


The Theological Review (1864-1879)
 
The University Magazine (1878-1880)
 
The Westminster review (1824-1900) 

  • AP4 .W5