Open Access (OA) is the practice of making scholarly publications openly and freely available on the web. These publications may be formal scholarly publications such as peer-reviewed articles or theses, or quasi-scholarly publications such as conference proceedings and presentations, pre-prints, and so on.
Open Access sites include:
Peer-reviewed journals on the web; generally resemble traditional journals
Digital collections maintained and made available by research institutions, for example U of T's T-space (theses are now archived here).
Digital collections organized by subject.
"By 'open access' to this literature we mean its free availability on the public internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without financial, legal, or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself."
Provides a comprehensive look at Open Access principles, advantages, approaches and methods.
Google Scholar - Searches online repositories and other web sites, as well as scholarly databases.
BASE - searches over 33 million documents at 2100+ sites.
OAIster - "millions of digital resources from thousands of contributors"
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
JURN - indexes free journals in the arts & humanities
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Respositories. Allows you to find repositories and to search repository contents.
ROAR - Registry of Open Access Repositories
SHERPA/RoMEO - Searchable directory of publisher copyright & self-archiving policies
Directories of subject repositories
Examples: Social sciences and humanities
Includes some fields in the humanities
DList - Digital Library of Information Science & Technology
e-LIS - E-prints in library and information science
RePEc - Research papers in economics
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.