This website's intended audience are the police, businesses, and firearms owners; it provides key information on policy, legislation, and safety.
The Correctional Service of Canada is responsible for managing federal prisons and supervising offenders under conditional release. One of the aims of Corrections Canada is to help prepare offenders to become law-abiding citizens. To further this aim, CSC runs programs, individually and in partnership with experts and community/non-governmental organizations, for current inmates as well as for those who have already been released into the community. The Ministry now has a Research website.
- Aboriginal Offenders
- Correctional Operations
- Community Corrections
- Correctional Programs and Interventions
- Health and Mental Health
- Substance Abuse
- Offender Profiles and Forecasting
- Women Offenders
Find out about the federal government's crime prevention strategy, resources and funding programs and access their publications and reports
Learn more about legislation, policy, and procedure at this site.
Office of the Correctional Investigator
Functions as an ombudsman for federal offenders. Its mandate is to investigate and settle inmate complaints and use these complaints as a basis for potential policy and procedure recommendations. This website hosts a collection of annual (and other) reports dating back to 1999.
The RCMP is the national police force of Canada; it also provides policing services under contract to the provinces (with the exception of Ontario and Quebec), the three territories, and num
The Justice Department's mandate is to promote a fair and equitable system of justice; provide legal services to the government; and support the law and the Constitution. Visit the Department's extensive list of online publications..
Access full-text decisions from 1990 to the present. An online index to court records is also available.
Full-text decisions are accessible online from 1996 to the present.
Provides electronic access to judgments from 1876 to the present.
Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime
In response to growing demands for victim redress, the Ministers of Justice and Public Safety appointed the first Ombudsman for Victims of Crime in 2007. The ombudsman's role is to represent victims' interests and address their complaints and issues by facilitating access to federal programs, resolving complaints, and bringing victims' needs to the attention of criminal justice authorities and policy makers.
This website provides a list of supports and services for victims, directions on accessing information about offenders, e.g., the status of criminal investigations, the time of a parole board hearing, and links to research relevant to victims' issues.
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.