Encyclopedias help students orient themselves to their topic and determine the parameters of their research papers.

Most encyclopedia entries also provide a list of recommended readings.

  Print Source         Online Source
 

Crime, Criminology, and Criminal Justice (General)

• Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice   
  HV6017 E52 2002 CRIM v.1-4
   
• Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment   
  HV 6017 .E524 2002 CRIM
  
  
• Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory  
   
• Encyclopedia of Race and Crime 
   
• Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior 
  HV 6017 .E53 2001X CRIM
   
• Battleground: Criminal Justice 
  HV 7411 B38 2007 CRIM v.1-2
   
• Encyclopedia of Criminology  
  HV 6017 E5295 2005 CRIM v.1-3
   
• Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice 
   
• The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America 
   
• Oxford Bibliographies Online 

Violence and Homicide

• Encyclopedia of Murder & Violent Crime    
  HV 6515 E5323 2003X CRIM
   
• Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence 

• Violence in America  
  HN 90 .V5 V5474 1999 CRIM V.1-3

• Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence  
  HV 6626 E534 2007

• Encyclopedia of Rape  
  HV 6558 E53 2004

White Collar and Organized Crime

• Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime     
  HV 6768 E63 2005 v.1-2

• Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime  

• Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States  
  HV 6446 K43 2000X

• Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security 
  

Youth Crime & Justice

• Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice      
  HV 9104 E58 2003 CRIM

• Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence  
  HV 9104 E59 2007

Gangs

• Encyclopedia of Gangs  
  HV 6439 U5E53 2008

Terrorism

• Terrorism: Essential Primary Resources  
   
• Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security 

Victims

• Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention     
  HV 6250.3 U5E55 2010 v.1-2

Police

• Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement      
  HV7921 E53 2005 v.1-3

• World Police Encyclopedia  
  HV 7901 W64 2006 v.1-2

• Encyclopedia of Police Science  
  HV 7901 E53 2012

Prisons and Corrections

• Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities     
  HV 9471 E427 2005 v.1-2

• Encyclopedia of American Prisons   
   
• Prisons and Prison Systems: A Global Encyclopedia   
  HV 8665 R67 2006X

Sociology and the Social Sciences

• Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology  
   
• Encyclopedia of Sociology   

• International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences       
   
• Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law       

 

• A Dictionary of Law Enforcement   

Brief entries on nearly every conceivable aspect of law enforcement in the UK.

• Dictionary of Law   

Useful to both legal professionals and laypersons. Relevant to countries whose legal systems are founded on English law.

• Dictionary of Sociology   

Reasonably extensive coverage of categories of crime and crime theory. Good cross-referencing.

• Dictionary of the Social Sciences   

Brief coverage of selected topics in crime and criminology.

• Sage Dictionary of Criminology    

Covers  methods, theories, and practices; each entry followed by a brief list of Key Readings.
HV 6017 S24 2013

 

• Women's Human Rights Resources Database

Produced by the Bora Laskin Law Library, University of Toronto. Features sections on Race and Gender, Reproductive Rights, and Violence Against Women. Excellent Canadian content, with links to full-text, where available.

• 21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook   

   HV 6025 A155 2009

• Oxford Handbook of Criminology   

HV6025 .O87 2012
Covers the history and theory of crime, perceptions of crime and criminality, types of crime, and reactions to crime both through formal sanctions, and societal responses. A somewhat more in-depth analysis can be found in this resource than in the criminological encyclopedias.