Skip to main content

Research Guides

Food and Agriculture Studies

Learning libguide on food studies research resources

How Do Encyclopedias Help?

Encyclopedias are a great place to find background information on the subject area of study as well as explaining concepts. Use the print and online encyclopedias on this page as a starting point.

Cambridge World History of Food

This is part of Cambridge Histories Online.

Click on the above link and then search on Cambridge World History of Food:

Search "cambridge world history of food"

It will come up in two parts: 

Use the facet on the right to search within books

Print Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Food Science Food Technology and Nutrition  Encyclopedia of Food Science Food Technology and Nutrition

Call number TX349 .E7 1993, Gerstein Science Information Centre, Stacks
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture    Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

Call number GT2850 .E53 2003, J.P. Robarts Library, Stacks 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America     The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America

Call number TX349 .E45 2004X, Gerstein Science Information Centre, Stacks

 

 

 

Tip

Encyclopedia articles are not research resources, though they may summarize research on a topic. Use them for background and for references to other sources, but generally don't quote them in your paper. This is as true for library resources as it is for Wikipedia. You'll need to be careful then not to unconsciouly use the ideas from encyclopedias without attribution.