Skip to main content

Food and Agriculture Studies

Learning libguide on food studies research resources

Finding Statistics at University of Toronto Libraries

Government Agencies

Follow the links to access agricultural government agency websites at provincial, national and international levels. Most agency websites contain a 'publications' or 'research' section that links to grey literature produced by the agency. Government agencies are also a good source for food and agricultural statistics.

Conference Proceedings

Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis on the life sciences & environmental sciences.

Web of Science
Complete bibliographic information and author abstracts of proceedings papers delivered at prestigious international scientific and technology conferences. (coverage 1990+)

  Search Google Scholar

The University of Toronto Libraries have licensed thousands of online journals so that you can use them for free as a member of the UofT community. Configure Google Scholar to know that you are a member of the UofT community:

  1. Click Scholar Preferences
  2. Under Library Links, type University of Toronto
  3. Click Find Library
  4. Click the box, University of Toronto Libraries - Get It! U of Toronto
  5. Click Save Preferences
  6. If the item is available at UofT, you will see check for print at UofT in your Google Scholar search results.

Finding government publications online

Since the mid-1990s, many governments have made full-text publications freely available on the Internet. 

If you're looking for material by topic, focus on government publications by using one of the sites below.

 Tip

  • If you have an exact title, search it in Google as a phrase by putting quotation marks around it (eg. "Growers of genetically modified grain corn and soybeans in Quebec and Ontario: A profile").

Finding Government Publications at University of Toronto Libraries

Dissertations / Theses

Dissertations & Theses: Full text
A comprehensive collection of PhD dissertations and Masters theses in all subjects from universities worldwide. Dissertations and Theses database contains the full text of University of Toronto PhD dissertations from 1962 onwards and Masters theses from 1989 onwards.

T-Space

University of Toronto's Research Repository. Contains full text of faculty research, PhD and Masters Dissertations