Skip to main content

Research Guides

Food and Agriculture Studies

Learning libguide on food studies research resources

Recommended Databases

BIOSIS Previews

BIOSIS Previews combines the citations found in Biological Abstracts (1980-), Biological Abstracts/RRM, and BioResearch Index (1965-1979). BIOSIS Previews supplies comprehensive coverage of life science journals and items from international meetings, review articles, books, and unique additional references from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. BIOSIS Previews covers the life sciences, from agriculture to biomedical sciences and from molecular genetics to zoology.

Forestry Abstracts

Forestry Abstracts is a fully searchable abstract database of internationally published research. It provides the latest information on forestry and forest trees, from forest management to tree biology and forest ecology. Coverage includes silviculture, provenance studies, inventories, economics, agroforestry, husbandry of non-wood forest products, tree anatomy and physiology, climate, soils, forest ecology, tree breeding, fire, forest pests and protection, forest conservation and arboriculture.

GEOBASE

The major database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines. GEOBASE covers world wide research literature. In addition to providing comprehensive coverage of the core scientific and technical periodicals, GEOBASE has a unique coverage of non-English language and less readily available publications.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

JSTOR

JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Plant Science

Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. Over 250 primary research journals are scanned by specialized scientific editors to add approximately 23,000 titles to the database each year.

Scopus

A major multidisciplinary database for the social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus covers research literature published in academic journals, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Scopus also covers 200 million quality Web sources, including 12.7 million patents. Web sources searched include author homepages, university sites, and resources such as preprint servers and Open Archives Initiative (OAI) compliant resources. The Citation Tracker enables researchers to evaluate research using citation information.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a major multidisciplinary database. Web of Science consists of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It can be searched as a database in the usual manner, but you can also uniquely search the citation indexes for articles that cite a known author or work.

Searching for Articles

To find articles, from the U of T library homepage, you can search using either the article search option or through subject specific databases.

Use the U of T library catalogue to do an advanced article or database search

The advanced search option for articles allows you to use key words. By narrowing down your search results using the facets on the left hand side, you can find relevant articles. Also, if you know the specific details of the article you are looking for, such as volume, issue and/or title, this is where you can search for it.

Using Advanced Article search narrow by using facets on the left or by adding search fields or rows

It is likely that you will receive an overwhelming amount of results, but by selecting the appropriate search filters, format and subject options, you can narrow down your results.

Choose an appropriate database that pertains to the subject you are researching by selecting "Subjects A-Z". For example, if we select "Ecology" from this list, we see all of the relevant databases that contain relevant articles, such as Ecology Abstracts or Environmental Science & Pollution Management.This will also lead you to other resources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Search databases by subject A-Z and also link to relevant encyclopedias and dictionaries

Loading ...

Article Finder

Enter citation information into the Article Finder to determine if we have online access to the full text of a particular article.  The Article Finder can search on journal titles and abbreviations (and supplementary volume, issue, author, title and page information), ISSN numbers, DOIs, or PMIDs.  You can also use the Article Finder to create a permanent link to an article.

Ellstrand, Norman C. and Mikeal L. Roose (1987), Patterns of Genotypic Diversity in Clonal Plant Species. American Journal of Botany, 74 (1): 123–131.

Screen shot of the article finder tool. Important fields for the user to fill out when searching for an article include: format, journal, volume, issue, page, and year.

Note if you do not get any results, try entering just the journal title or abbreviation. 

Don't despair if you don't find it on Article Finder!  try also looking for the journal on e-journals or even search google or google scholar as a final try.  You may be surprised by how much is available for free. If you do find a journal that is freely available but not on our journals list you can contact your librarian and request that the journal is added to our collections, or borrow the article from another University Library collection by using RACER.

 

We don't have the article? Request it!

If U of T does not have the article you are looking for in either the print or electronic version, then you can order your article through RACER.