Diagnosaurus contains 1000+ differential diagnoses and allows users to search by disease, symptom or organ system. The application is free for devices running PalmOS (not webOS), Windows Mobile and Blackberry. It costs .99 for Android, iOS and Windows Phone 7.
Medscape contains medical review articles, journal commentary, patient education articles and book reviews among other content which is organized by medical speciality. It has content geared towards the health professional, student and the public. Users must register with Medscape; this can be done through the application and is free.
Nature currently provides access to Nature, Nature News, Nature Communications, Nature Physics, Nature Genetics, Nature Reviews Genetics and Nature Reviews Microbiology for all content published after August 31, 2009. You must register for Nature; this can be done through the app and registration is free.
WebMD contains a symptom checker, information on different conditions, drug and treatment information (including a pill identification tool) and first aid information. No registration is required and webMD is compatible with Android, Blackberry and iOS.
New Scientist has developed an Android app to allow you to keep up with their publication. All of their weekly content is available for free through this app.
FRR: Find Rehab Resources was designed by a team of professional librarians from the University Health Network as a pathfinder to help clinicians locate free information resources on rehabilitation medicine on the Internet. The content areas were identified by a group of rehabilitation clinicians and staff at Toronto Rehabilitation Institute.
Note: not all of the applications included in these lists and review sites are free. Most medical app lists also contain "science" applications.
iMedicalApps is an online community of medical professionals who review medical applications for iOS, Android and Blackberry OS. Reviews take in to account the reviewers usage of an application in their clinical, professional and home settings.
50 Healthcare Apps for Clinicians and Consumers to Know
This list details 50 of the most-talked about, most-downloaded apps to know for both patients and providers.
Our 10 Favourite Science Apps for Android
Science Focus magazine compiles a list of some fun science-related games and some helpful apps for the science-minded. This includes acceleratAR - an app that allows you to create your very own (virtual) particle accelerator!
Macworld Reviews, Medical apps
This is the medical section of Macworld iOS reviews. It provides plenty of useful information and also includes user ratings for the apps.
Our Top 10 Science Apps for iPad and iPhone
Science Focus magazine compiles a list of the best science-related apps for iPad and iPhone, including Bloom - an educational app from Swedish startup Megalearn that acts as a beautiful introduction to the world of plants.
26 BlackBerry Apps to learn about any Medicine, Symptom or Disease
Word on the street is that Blackberry OS is severely lacking in medical applications. This comprehensive list proves that wrong. 26 Blackberry applications are divided into subtopics and briefly described and reviewed. Note: many of these are paid apps.
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved.