Skip to main content

CLAA04/HISA07 The Ancient Mediterranean World

This guide will help you to find the resources needed to complete your research assignments.

Important Note About How to Use Reference Resources for Your Assignment

Reference Resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, companions, and even Wikipedia. You are NOT permitted to use Reference Resources as sources for this assignment, but you CAN use them to learn about your topic and lead you to further reading about your topic.

 Here is a list of the ways Reference Resources can be useful to you:

  • They provide introductory information about topics/people/event/places/objects
  • They can help you think of keywords to use as search terms to find books and articles
  • They often have bibliographies or lists of further reading that you can find to use as sources for the assignment

 

Reference Resources

The following reference books are available electronically through UTSC Library and can help with understanding the course, and with your coursework assignment. To access the books follow the WEB links and sign in with your UTORid and password if required.

The Ancient Near East

Who's Who in the Ancient Near East

Who's Who in Non-Classical Mythology Can also be accessed here and here.

A Companion to the Ancient Near East

A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient Near East

 

Ancient Egypt

Who's Who in Ancient Egypt Can also be accessed here and here and here.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt Can also be accessed here.

 

Ancient Greece & Rome

Who's Who in the Classical World

Who's Who in Classical Mythology

The Oxford Classical Dictionary

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization

Oxford Bibliography: Research Resources for Classical Art and Archaeology