Skip to main content

Psychology

Where to Look for Articles

Once you've identified what you need to search, you need to decide where to search for it. Research databases are an excellent place to look for scholarly information on a topic.

Why Use Research Databases?

  • They are often specialized by subject area (e.g. Psychology)
  • They contain information not available through public resources like Google
  • They are designed with scholars and researchers in mind - that's you!

Check out the "Searching PsycINFO" page in the left menu for an example of how to search using a database.

Major Databases

Try some of these key databases to find articles for your research:

PsycINFO (ProQuest) or PsycINFO (OVID)

The major index for scholarly literature in psychology from the 1800's to the present. PsycINFO includes material of relevance to practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioural sciences, and other related disciplines.

For additional tips on using this database, see the "Searching PsycINFO" link to the left.

MEDLINE (OVID) or PubMed

The major index for biomedical research. It is particularly useful for neuroscience and clinical topics.

Neurosciences Abstracts (ProQuest)

This database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)

A smaller collection of article records from journals published by the APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group, with access to the full-text of articles.

Search All (Library Catalogue)

It is generally recommended to search one database at a time, as different databases use different official search terminology and advanced search features; searching in more than one database at a time can also produce too many results.

Why Search Multiple Databases?

While doing your research, it's a good idea to look in more than one place for your articles. Why, you may ask?

  • Databases contain different content: You may notice some overlap between the search results of different databases (for example, Web of Science and Scopus); however, each database also contains unique results. By searching one and not the other, you a) risk missing out on valuable information, and b) bias your search by excluding relevant materials.
     
  • Databases operate differently: Not all databases search the same way, and so you may need to tweak your search strategy to match the requirements of a specific database. Check out "Building a Search Strategy" in the left menu for general tips and tricks when designing a search.