Skip to main content

Canadian government publications

General

1. Canadian Research Index (CRI), 1982+
  • Major index of federal, provincial and selected municipal government publications

  • Searches on abstracts as well as author, title, subject, etc

  • Tip: search government bodies under the Company/org heading

  • To locate titles found in the CRI, do a manual search in the library catalogue and/or web

  • If you cannot locate the item, use the Microlog number (eg. 99-1234) in the Microlog (CRI) fiche set, held in the Government Publications Collection, 5th floor, Robarts. Please ask staff for assistance

2. Government of Ontario Home

  • Links to cabinet ministers, ministries, Legislative Assembly and Proceedings, Budget, bills, laws, annual reports and more

3. Ontario Gov. Docs Portal

  • Contains over 20,000 government documents from the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library

4. Canadian Government Documents (Google custom search)

  • Further break down search results by jurisdiction (provincial and municipal)

5. Library Catalogue (Legislative Assembly of Ontario)

  • Harvested and catalogued web resources


 

Parliamentary

Includes Bills, Journals, Debates, Committees, Statutes, Regulations, Sessional papers, Gazettee, Order in Council and etc.


1. Provincial and Territorial Parliamentary Publications
  • Lists holdings of the parliamentary materials of the Government Publication Collection on the 5th floor of the Robarts Library and contains links to parliamentary sites
2. Bills (Legislative Assembly of Ontario)
  • Sept.26, 1995+

  • Includes full-text of the bills, background information, status and etc

3. e-Laws

  • Contains Ontario's statutes and regulations, both consolidated and source law


4. Quicklaw (LexisNexis)

  • Accessible to University of Toronto community (with passwords) only

  • Covers every jurisdiction in Canada

  • Foreign jurisdictions include the United Kingdom, other Commonwealth countries, the United States, and more

  • Legal information in both English and French

  • Court and tribunal decisions, legislation, current awareness sources, commentary, and legal news 

  • Search by jurisdiction or area of law

  • Includes QuickCITE case citator, and point-in-time statute searching (from 1999)

5. CanLll

 
6. Ontario statute citator : R.S.O. 1990 edition print

  • KEO72 .O67 1992 v.1-5

  • A multi-volume that is extremely useful for finding and updating legislation

  • Reports changes in legislation to the Revised Statutes of Ontario (1990 ed.)

  • Updated quarterly

  • Arranged alphabetically by title

  • Text of amendments are cited in bold face type

  • Weekly bulletin on the status of bills currently before Parliament

7. LEGISLATORS AND LEGISLATURES OF ONTARIO. 1792-1984 print

  • CA2ONXL..1084L24....ENG

Royal Commissions

  • Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry established by Order-in-Councils


1. Ontario royal commissions (microfiche) print

  • CA2ONZ....1....-R51

  • Comprises 177 reports of Ontario royal commissions and commissions of inquiry from Confederation to 1978



2. ONTARIO ROYAL COMMISSIONS AND COMMISSIONS OF INQUIRY: A CHECKLIST OF REPORTS, 1867-1978 print

  • CA2ONXL..1080O56....ENG


Government finance

The Budget and the Estimates form a government's financial plan for the coming year while the Public Accounts reporting actual spending about two years later.

1. Ontario budget print
  • CA2ONTR......B82....ENG
  • 1872+ (paper)
  • 2000+ online

2. Ontario expenditure estimates print

  • CA2ONTR........-O53
  • 1932/33+

3. Public accounts print

  • CA2ONTR........-P71
  • 1908 - 1999 (paper)
  • 1998/99+ online

Annual Departmental Reports

Earlier Annual reports can be found from the Sessional papers (1868-1947), Library catalogue and CRI (1973+).

1. Annual Reports (Ontario Government)
  • 1997+
  • Check the appendix of the Results-based plan for the previous year annual report

Statistics

1. Statistics Canada
 
2. Provincial Statistics (Data Library Services)
 
3. Ontario Statistics (GDSourcing)
 
4. Ontario's economic outlook print
  • CA2ONTR........-O55

  • 1990 - 1994 (paper)

5. PROVINCE OF ONTARIO - VITAL STATISTICS print
  • CA2ONPS..31..V37....ENG

  • 1879 - 1989 (holding incomplete)

  • Statistics of births, marriages and deaths

6. Ontario Economic Accounts (Ontario Ministry of Finance)

  • Includes historical tables (annual and quarterly from 1981)
  • Ontario Open Data (quarterly from 1981)

City of Toronto

Doing business: publications and reports (City of Toronto)
  • Includes publications and reports by sector, economic indicators and etc.