Skip to main content

History Research

Comprehensive guide to research resources in History at the University of Toronto, with a particular emphasis on primary sources. For beginning to advanced researchers.

Key Government Publication online databases

Here a a sample of the most significant and popular government publications databases. For further resources, choose one of the research guides in the right-hand column.

Government Publications print and microform collections

A government publication is any publication that has been issued by a government, its official agencies, or by an international governmental organization, such as the United Nations. Included are debates, legislation, public accounts and estimates, statistics, commission reports, hearings and much more.

The Library's collection covers Canadian federal, provincial and municipal materials; a broad range of publications from international agencies such as the United Nations, and selected material from foreign countries, particularly the United States and United Kingdom.

A core Government Publications Collection is held on the 5th floor, Robarts Library, holding both print and microform material. Additional government publications are held in many libraries on campus, including Downsview storage. Many can be found by searching the library catalogue under author (government bodies are considered authors) or title. For further assistance, please consult staff at the Reference desk, 4th floor, Robarts Library, in-person, by phone (416 978-6215), or by e-mail.

Data

The Map and Data Library reference area, computer lab, staff offices and collections are located on the 5th floor of the Robarts Library.

For assistance contact: datalib@utoronto.ca

To find data and statistical sources in your field, look at the Statistics and Research Data tabs on the Data Library web site. You can also use a variety of statistical software in the library.

Maps and Geographic Information Systems

Map and Data Library reference area, computer lab, staff offices and collections are located on the 5th floor of the Robarts Library. Map Libraryweb pages contain the geospatial data collection and the Scanned Map Inventory. Paper maps can be found in the library catalogue.

For assistance contact 416-978-5589, gis.maps@utoronto.ca.