Skip to main content

English Literature Resources @ UTSC

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based citation and bibligraphy tool that is available to students, faculty, and staff at participating schools.
In Canada, most institutions subscribe to RefWorks through Scholars Portal.


RefWorks has a new, more intuitive look and feel. This guide will walk you through all of the basic functionalities RefWorks offers, as well as some new features and troubleshooting tips.

With RefWorks, you can:

  • Organize and create a personal online database of references
  • Format references for bibliographies and papers in a wide variety of styles (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)
  • Import references to your RefWorks account from a variety of databases using the Direct Export feature offered by many databases, or using Import Filters included in your RefWorks account
  • Incorporate RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly into RefWorks


Log-In to RefWorks now!

New to Refworks? Visit and click "Sign up for an Individual Account."

When working off campus, you will be asked for a RefWorks group code. The group code is emailed to you when you sign up for your account. 

If you no longer have that email, you should be able to find it through your library's website.

If you cannot find it, contact from your institutional email address.

Setting up a RefWorks account

To sign up for a RefWorks account, visit the login page,
and click on "Sign up for an Individual Account":

If you are on-campus, RefWorks will detect which school you are associated with. If you are off-campus, you will need to have your school's group code to create an account. Many schools have their groupcode listed on their library website, either openly or behind a proxy. If you can't find your groupcode, email from your institutional account.

Fill in the required fields and submit your information. You will receive an e-mail confirmation with your username, password and group code, and should have access to your account right away. Save this e-mail in case you forget your password!



Help with RefWorks

Write N Cite

Write N Cite allows you to insert references into your paper as you write, and then generate the appropriate bibliography at the end. For additional information on using Write N Cite please consult the Refworks 2.0 Libguide or contact the library.

Adding references

You can add references to your RefWorks database from a number of sources, and in a number of different ways.

Many journal databases offer direct export to RefWorks, some require a bit of a work-around, and occassionally there will be content that needs to be added manually.

Look for a link that says Export or a Refworks button:  or 

If you do not find either of these please consult the Refworks 2.0 Libguide or the library for additional information.

Adding references manually

Occassionally, particularly with older or unpublished references (presentations, for instance), you will need to manually enter a reference.

1. Select the "New Reference" button, or "Reference" and "Add New" from the top menu.

2. An "Add New Reference" window will pop up. You can select a citation style,  which will refresh the window, presenting only the fields required for the selected style, or leave it as "None Selected." Once you have selected a style, an "About This Style" link will appear, which gives you notes and specifications on the style. It will not close the window.

3. Select the type of resource you are adding. Be as specific as possible. If the reference type is not available, choose the one that is the closest match.

4. Populate as many fields as you can. RefWorks will automatically offer suggestions in some fields, such as authors you have previously cited or journal names. If there are other fields you would like to add, or need to add because the reference type is not exact, you can select those at the bottom. When you are done click "Save Reference." You can edit your reference at any time. If you would like to immediately enter another reference manually, choose "Save & Add New" instead.

Creating a quick bibliography

  1. From the menu, select Bibliography, then Create.

  2. A new window will pop up. Select which output style you'd like your references to formatted in. To create a list of references, click on the orange link, then decide which file format you'd like your references to be created in (i.e. HTML, text, Word for Windows, etc.). You can create a reference list of all the references in your account, or from particular folders. Hit Create Bibliography. Depending on the format you selected, you will either be prompted to download the reference list (i.e. Word format), or open the list in a new tab (i.e. HTML format).

  3. You can then modify this reference list in any way you like (i.e. make changes, copy and paste it at the end of a paper, etc.).