Skip to main content

Kinesiology, Physical Education & Health: Faculty and Graduate Student Research Guide

This guide is intended primarily for faculty and students in the Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education. This is a selective guide to the major research resources available through the University of Toronto Libraries.

Find Journal Articles in Databases

Use databases (also called journal or periodical indexes) to search for articles by topic or author.

Need a refresher? Consult our Database Help in the Sciences and Health Sciences Guide for tutorial videos on MEDLINE, CINAHL, and more.

Key KPE Databases

Key Citation Indexes

Health science research is often multidisciplinary. Below is a list of multidisciplinary databases to start you in the right path. You can also use these databases to conduct basic searches to 'scope' out a subject; quickly find seminal articles; and conduct bibliometrics research. We do not recommend searching these databases as part of a systematic review. 

Business Databases

Find Instruments

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) e-resources
Information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behaviour.
 
Mental Measurements Yearbook e-resources
Fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.