Research guides: SOC327 Drugs and the Modern World : Newspaper Articles

Finding Newspaper Articles

Use the databases below to search for newspaper articles using keywords.

Canadian Newsstream
Access to Canadian news sources from Canada's leading newspaper publishers. Canadian Newsstand is a full text database that includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers. Content includes articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
This database has a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Factiva
A global news and business information service. Factiva contains a collection of resources from news media, web media, social media, and multimedia. News media resources include newspapers, trade press, magazines, newswires, and press releases. A limited number of users can access Factiva at one time.
U.S. Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides local, regional and national news.
International Newsstream
English language publications only. International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection.

Check out UofT's guide, Newspapers, for links to more international and historical newspaper databases.

News Sources: Non-Subscription

The following news resources are publicly available and do not require a subscription:

PBS NewsHour (United States)
NPR News (United States)
CBC News (Canada)
BBC News (U.K.)

CRAAP Test

Need help evaluating information sources? Check out the CRAAP Test.

Fact-Checking Resources

Below is a selection of freely available fact-checking resources:

FactCheck.org
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania. FactCheck.org "monitor[s] the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases."
FactsCan
"Canada's political fact-checker. Independent. Transparent. Non-partisan."
Politifact
Pulitzer Prize-winning website operated by the Tampa Bay Times. Fact-checks statements made by "elected officials, candidates, leaders of political parties and political activists."
Washington Post Fact Checker
Glenn Kessler's blog at the Washington Post. Focuses on "any statements by political figures and government officials–in the United States and abroad–that cry out for fact-checking."
Snopes.com
Debunks urban legends, rumors, and strange news stories.

Reference & Research Help

Reference and Research Desk | UTM Library Chat | Ask Chat with a Librarian | Zoom Reference | Book a Research Consultation | Email

The UTM Library will be closed April 15 for Good Friday, May 23 for Victoria Day, June 30 for U of T Presidential Day, July 1 for Canada Day, and August 1 for Civic Holiday.

Reference and Research Desk

Service Hours: until April 30

Monday - Thursday: 10am-7pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday - Sunday: 10am-5pm

Service Hours: May 1 to May 8

Monday - Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday - Sunday: closed

Service Hours: May 9 to June 26

Monday - Thursday: 10am-7pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday: 10am-5pm
Sunday: Closed (except on June 19 and 26)

Service Hours: June 27 to July 3

Monday - Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday - Sunday: closed

Service Hours: July 4 to August 21

Monday - Thursday: 10am-7pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday: 10am-5pm
Sunday: Closed (except on Aug 14 and 21)

Service Hours: August 22-September 5

Monday - Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday - Sunday: closed

UTM Library Chat

Service Hours

Same hours as Reference desk above

To access, visit the UTM Library's home page and click on the Chat icon during service hours.

Ask Chat with a Librarian

Service Hours: January 10 to April 14, 2022

Monday - Thursday: 10am-10pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12-6pm

Service Hours: April 15 to 29

Monday - Friday: 10am-4pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Service Hours: May 2 to August 12

Monday - Thursday: 10am-6pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Service Hours: August 13 to September 9

Monday - Friday: 10am-4pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

For full schedule, visit the Ask Chat with a Librarian webpage

Book a Research Consultation

Need more assistance, you can also Book a Consultation with a reference specialist.

Need subject-specific assistance with an assignment? UTM Library has liaison librarians for every program. Email your UTM Liaison Librarian to schedule a virtual research consultation.

Email

Email us at askutml.utm@utoronto.ca

SOC327 Drugs and the Modern World

How to Spot Fake News Infographic

How to Spot Fake News Video

Librarian