Research guides: SOC228 Introduction to Indigenous Studies: Newspapers &amp; Magazine Articles

Finding Newspaper & Magazine Articles

Use the databases below to search for newspaper and magazine articles.

Canadian Newsstream
Access to Canadian news sources from Canada's leading newspaper publishers. Content includes articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward. Includes The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
CBCA Complete
Provides in-depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. The academic titles include the most prominent journals from the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Other magazines focus on opinion, public policy, children/youth, lifestyles, arts and culture, health, and regional concerns.
U.S. Newsstream
Access to the full text newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers in the United States. U.S. Newsstream provides access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries, and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, and the Boston Globe.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
ProQuest Australia and New Zealand (ANZ) Newsstand offers access to leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Combining content from Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and APP newswires, ANZ Newsstand provides the very latest local, regional and national news.

Check out UofT's guide, Newspapers, for links to more international and historical newspaper databases.

Indigenous News Source: Subscription

Below is a list of Canadian subscription-based publications available through the University of Toronto Libraries. If you're connecting from off-campus, you will need to enter your UTORid and password.

Windspeaker
Canada's most widely circulated Indigenous news publication. Available from 1993 to January 2017.
Saskatchewan Sage
Available from 1996 to 2013.
Ontario Birchbark
Available from 2002 to 2006
Alberta Sweetgrass
Available from 1993 to 2015
Raven's Eye
Available from 1997 to 2006

For information about Windspeaker, Ontario Birchbark, Saskatchewan Sage, Alberta Sweetgrass, and Raven's Eye, visit Aboriginal Multi Media Society.

Indigenous News Sources: Non-Subscription

The following news resources are publicly available and do not require a subscription:

CANADIAN:

AMERICAN:

Indian Country Today

AUSTRALIA:

National Indigenous Television News

NEW ZEALAND:

Maori Television News

For more publications, including a list of Canadian Indigenous magazines, visit the UofT Libraries' Newspapers guide.

For a list of regional and national newspapers, visit UBC Library's guide, First Nations and Indigenous Studies.

Other News Sources: Subscription

The following is a selection of subscription-based publications available through the University of Toronto Libraries. If you're connecting from off-campus, you will need to enter your UTORid and password.

CANADIAN:

The Globe and Mail
Full text available from Nov 14, 1977 to the present.
The National Post
Available 1985 to the present from various vendors.
Toronto Star
Available from 1985 to the present.
Calgary Herald
Available from 1988 to the present. Updated within 1 day of publication.
Vancouver Sun
Available from 1987 to the present. Updated within 1 day of publication.
Edmonton Journal
Available 1989 to the present. Updated within 1 day of publication.
Winnipeg Free Press
Full text coverage from 2006 to the present. Abstract coverage is from 1982 to the present.
Regina Leader-Post
Coverage from 2000 to the present.

AMERICAN:

The Washington Post
Full text available from Dec 4, 1996 to the present.
New York Times
Full text of the New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) from January 1980 to the present.

AUSTRALIA:

Sydney Morning Herald
Available from 1986 to the present through various vendors.

NEW ZEALAND:

The New Zealand Herald
Available from 1986 to the present through various vendors.

Check out UofT's guide, Newspapers, for links to more international and historical newspapers.

Other News Sources: Non-Subscription

The following news resources are publicly available and do not require a subscription: