Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

NEW329: Revolution, Decolonization and Social Change in the Caribbean

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for Revolution, Decolonization, and Social Change in the Caribbean! This guide outlines advanced search techniques to improve your search results, instructions on how to find articles and ebooks using the University of Toronto Libraries website, and a list of recommended databases. 

 

Want help with your research? Book a consultation with your New College librarians for a one-on-one session to help with your research. 

Before you start your search

Here is an quick example of how you can identify keywords from your topic. Be sure to check out the link above for the full step by step instructions.

Example topic: Examine the role of women in revolutions within the Caribbean

Searchable concepts:  Examine the role of women in revolutions within the Caribbean

Identify synonyms:

  • Women
    • woman
    • female
  • revolution
    • political change
    • political organization
  • Caribbean
    • Guyana
    • Cuba

These keywords can change as you learn more about your topic. It is helpful to keep a record of the keywords you are using and identify which keywords work and which do not.

Search techniques

Use AND to narrow your search results to contain all of the keywords you enter.
A Venn diagram with two circles of different colours, first circle is green and contains the word women, the second circle is blue and contains the phrase revolution. The overlapping area contains the word AND in caps lock.

Use OR to expand your search results to contain either of the keywords that you enter.
A Venn diagram with two purple circles, the first circle contains the word revolution, the second circle contains the phrase political organization in quotation marks. The overlapping area contains the word OR in caps lock.

Use NOT to narrow your search results to contain one keyword and exclude the keyword following the NOT command. 
A diagram with one circle overlapped by another. The first circle is orange and contains the word Cuba, the second circle is overlapping the first, is white and contains the word NOT followed by Haiti.

How to find articles using the UTL article search

The UTL article search is a multidisciplinary search engine that combines databases and journals from many publishers across all subjects, from the humanities and sciences.

  1. Start your search at the University of Toronto Libraries website

  2. Click on 'Advanced Search' in the Article Search 
    Screenshot of the University of Toronto libraries homepage with attention being drawn to the Advance search link under the Article Search heading.

  3. Type in the keywords for your search. 

    Tip: Only add keywords for a single searchable concept into each row. Use the boolean oporator OR between the keywords in each row. Click 'Add row' to add additional rows. 

    Screenshot of the advanced article search with 3 search field rows and attention being drawn to the OR operator between synonyms in each search field. Attention is also being drawn to the add row button.
  4. Click 'Search' once you have included your keywords.
     

    Screenshot of the Advanced search with attention being drawn to the Search button.


Limit your results to articles available online

Click  'Full text online​' to limit your results to articles with the full text available online.


Screenshot of the Search filters with attention being drawn to the Full text online button.


Use Subjects to refine you results

Each article has subject keywords associated with it which give you a sense of what the article is about. Use 'Subjects' to narrow your search by relevant subject keywords.

  1. Review the 'Subjects' filter in the left menu. Click on 'More' for the full list of available subjects.
    Screenshot of the subjects filter with attention being drawn to the more link.

  2. For any subject keywords you want to include, check off the box in the left 'Add' column.

    Screenshot of the subjects more window with attention being drawn to the buttons in the first column to add subjects filters to the search results.

  3. Click 'Apply filters' when you are done selecting subject keywords.

    Screenshot of the more subjects window with an arrow pointing to the Apply filters button.

Recommended databases

When searching in the UTL 'Article Search', you may get articles that are not relevant to your subject because this search engine is multidisciplinary. For more subject specific results, try your search in the databases listed below. Each database contains articles from specific journals relevant to the subject. Read the descriptions to identify which database is most appropriate for your research needs.

How to find ebook using the catalogue

  1. Start your search on the University of Toronto Libraries website.

  2. Click on the 'Catalogue'  to search for books.
    Screenshot of the university of Toronto libraries homepage with an arrow pointing to the catalogue search heading.

  3. Type your keywords in the search bar. Press enter or click the search button. 

    Tip: Use quotation (“ ”) marks when searching for a phrase.

    Screenshot of the catalogue search with two arrows, one arrow is pointing to the search bar with the text 1 type your keywords and another arrow pointing to the search button with the text 2. click search

  4. Select 'Online' in the 'Refine Your Search' option on the left side of your screen to limit your search results to ebooks. 

    Screenshot of refine your search menu with arrow pointing to the online button
     
  5. Click on one of the web links to access the ebook. 

    Screenshot of ebook in the catalogue search result
     
  6. If you are off campus, you will need to log in using your UTORID and password to access the ebook. 

    Screenshot of the my.access webpage with attention being drawn to the link log in with your utorid via University of Toronto web login

Getting online access to books UTL has in print

Citing your sources

Contact us

Need help? Ask a librarian!

Book a consultation with your New College librarians for research and citation support.