For your assignments, you will need scholarly resources to draw upon the theory and critical concepts that you
A research database is essentially an electronic collection of published works. Depending on the database, it may contain records for journals, newspapers or magazine articles; books; documents; or audio visual content). Some databases will focus on specific disciplines while others are multidisciplinary (and therefore cover many different topics).
Research databases have tools for narrowing your search results by date, author, publications, subject and formats. These filters can help you narrow down your search results to the resources that will be the most relevant for your research project.
Explore this guide to learn more or contact library staff for help. You can send an email or book an online appointment with Kate, the Innis College Librarian or other UofT Librarians (subject librarians, request an online consultation, Ask a Librarian - online chat service).
ProQuest is a platform containing over 100 databases. ProQuest contains publications (i.e., newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, eBook titles, dissertation and theses) in different subjects areas including film. Remember you might find content in a non-film related resource from your time period, (i.e., newspapers, business or tech magazines).
If you find interesting articles, be sure to .
Another option is to create a free ProQuest "My Research" account.
Use these Newspaper Databases have filters to narrow down your search results:
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.