Use the Library website to find journal articles

Begin your search at the library homepage. From the LibrarySearch box, you can find books, journals, and other resources in our library catalogue in addition to searching for articles across multiple databases.

In the LibrarySearch box, type in the keywords relevant to your research topic. 

For example, if your topic is about the Catholic ran residential schools in Canada, you can enter the keywords

Catholic residential schools Canada

You will get a list of results such as Articles, Books, Reviews, and more! To find scholarly articles, underneath Filter your results select "Peer-reviewed articles" under Show Only and select "APPLY FILTERS" when prompted.

Narrow down your list to get better articles

Sometimes you will get hundreds of results. Use the filters in the left hand sidebar to narrow down your list of sources. You can filter your search results by Subject, Publication Date, and Language.

You can also narrow down your search results by adding different keywords. If you are looking for a specific phrase or multi-word term, residential schools, put the phrase in quotes: "residential schools". 

Identifying book reviews

While searching for journal articles, you may come across book reviews. Examine the citation for the article to distinguish between journal articles and book reviews. 

Book reviews

• "Review" may be a subject heading in the search results
• The author of the review and the author of the book are sometimes both indicated
• The book publisher information may be included in the title
• Books reviews are often short (only a couple pages)

In the example below, you can see this is a book review as it indicates the book author's name, title, and publisher. The page numbers also indicate it's only 1 page long, suggesting it is a book review.

​

Why should you use subject specific databases?

• The library catalogue may produce too many search results
• You want to search for more specific time periods

Recommended Subject Specific Database

(residential schools, Indigenous genocide)

Use the Library website to find books

In the library homepage search box, type in the keywords relevant to your research topic. When searching for books, remember to use simple, broad keywords.

From the list of results, underneath Filter your results on the left sidebar select "Books" under Format and select "APPLY FILTERS" when prompted to see the the library catalogue search results.  

Narrow down your list of books

You can refine your search with various filters on the left sidebar, such as Library, Subject, Publication Date, and Language.

For ebooks, you can also click on the Online checkbox at the top of the page underneath show only. 

When choosing books or articles for your paper, consider the following:

• Are they relevant to your topic, and the argument that you wish to make?
• Are they current? Some of your sources should reflect current research.
• Are they substantial? Beware of an article that is only a couple of pages.
• Are they scholarly? Distinguish between popular and scholarly sources 

Scholarly journal articles report on original research by experts in a particular academic discipline. Often they go through a peer-review process, which means that they are evaluated by reputable scholars in the field before they are published. 

Criteria for evaluating scholarly journals

RADAR (Rationale, Authority, Date, Accuracy, and Relevance)

Another helpful way to evaluate the credibility of a information source is through the framework RADAR (Rationale, Authority, Date, Accuracy, and Relevance). See the guide for using RADAR for more detailed guidelines about how to evaluate the quality and usefulness of an information source for your research

Adapted from: Mandalios, J. (2013). RADAR: An approach for helping students evaluate Internet sources. Journal of Information Science, 39(4), 470–478,

A primary source is a document that was created at the time of the event or subject you've chosen to study, or by people who were observers of, or participants in that event or topic

More information:

• What kinds of things can be primary sources?

Think about what kinds of primary sources might be related to your topic:

Four ways to find primary sources:

1. Start with what you already have to uncover references to primary sources. Consult your:

• class notes
• course readings
• bibliographies of your textbook, journal articles, or other secondary sources
• historical encyclopedias

They can also help you identify relevant historical figures, authors, or keywords for searching library database

2. Use the library catalogue to find books and other materials

Combine keywords for different kinds of primary sources with keywords for your topic to find them in the library catalogue.

Examples:

reformation sources

world war 1942 correspondence

national socialism documents

Primary source keywords

3. Use reliable online primary source collections

4. Use one of the specialized libraries at U of T, such as the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, or one of our special collections.​

Images

See the Image and Visual Resource Collections guide for comprehensive links to image and visual resource databases. 

Oral History

Oral history may be in manuscript, print, microform, audio, or video format. It may be identified through a variety of tools throughout this guide, using relevant keywords.

For example, to find oral histories in the library catalogue, use keywords such as the following with your subject:

• oral history
• oral histories
• testimonies
• interview

Recommended Resources

See the Biography & autobiography guide for comprehensive links and resources for memoirs, biographies, and autobiographies

• Why and how we cite sources in academic writing The guide includes links to many helpful online tutorials, style guides, and related documents to help you understand citation practice, and build correct citations for your bibliography

Style Guides

• Chicago Formatting and Style (16th ed.) from Excelsior

• Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide (17th ed.)

  Online subscription to Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. (UTORid login required)

Books from the Library

• The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Ed. by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)

• The Chicago manual of style online by University of Chicago Press

How do I get the full text?

• Make sure you've chosen a journal article - only journal articles link to the full-text: Doublecheck that you're not trying to link to an article in a book.
• WORKAROUND if the link to a journal article doesn't work or if the search for your specific article doesn't bring up the article:
  • Search the journal title in the library catalogue. Find the online version of the journal - it has [Electronic resource] beside the title.
  • Often, more than one subscription is listed. Choose the one with the right date to cover your article.
  • Then find the volume and issue that holds your article.
• It's possible the Library does not have your article  - our collection is enormous but we still don't have everything. The Library can get things for you from other libraries through inter-library loan
• You can always check with a librarian. Contact the Library through chat, email or in-person.

This guide is currently maintained by Jesse Carliner. Please send any suggestions, comments, and reports of broken links to jesse.carliner@utoronto.ca 

• Winter 2023 update: Samantha Zani, TALInt student

There are lots of ways to get research help right when you need it:

    Need immediate assistance?  Send a message using Ask Chat Service.

Ask a questions or book a meeting with a UofT Librarian

• Connect with UofT Library Staff for help with navigating your research and accessing materials. 
  • Email questions about access or research strategies
  • Book a research consultation / meeting to discuss your project and learn about UofT Libraries 
• Contact the Innis College Librarian Kate Johnson at katej.johnson@utoronto.ca. She is happy to connect you with resources and experts across the UofT Libraries System. Kate supports all Innis College students and courses from InnisONE / Innis First-Year Foundations Seminars, Writing & Rhetoric Program, and Cinema Studies Institute.

Innis College Library - Hours & Location 

• 2 Sussex Ave,  R. 220E (2nd Floor in the East Wing), above the Registrar's Office 

Research help     

• Innis College Librarian Kate Johnson can help with research strategies, accessing materials or dealing with citations -- no matter what subject you are studying
• Email to book an appointment or ask a question -  katej.johnson @ utoronto.ca
• Set up citation managers for bibliographies, in-text citations, and keeping track of research

Library Spaces 

• Innis College Library provides quieter study space that is a water-only (beverages in sealable containers are okay too!) and no-food zone to keep our space clean.
• Our study carrels on the top level are study spots for Cinema Studies Institute PhDs students, but undergrads can use them if they aren’t occupied.
• Book Collections for Cinema Studies Institute and Writing & Rhetoric Program and select resources for Urban Studies.

Printing / Copying / Scanning 

• Learn more about Innis College Computer Lab and how to use the Innis Printing Release Station (located outside of the library).

Book Writing Centre Appointments

• Are you an Innis College Student? Enrolled in Innis College courses (InnisONE, Urban Studies, Writing & Rhetoric) or Cinema Studies Institute courses? Book an appointment for writing help at Innis College Writing Centre
• Belong to another College? Book an appointment with your College Writing Centre

Writing Workshops 

• Writing Plus Workshops: Explore these campus-wide series of academic skills workshops to the University’s entire student body over the school year. All workshops are free.

Explore Writing.Utoronto.ca

• Advice & Handouts on Academic Writing: The advice files on this site answer the kinds of questions that University of Toronto students ask about their written assignments. Most were created by writing instructors here—people who are familiar with U of T expectations.
• Books on Academic Writing: A selective list of books that will show you how academic writing works and how to engage in it. Many focus on the writing done in particular subject areas.

Other supports available through your College: 

• Learning Strategists (scroll down)
• Accessibility Advisors 
• Health & Wellness Counsellors
• Support from Your College Registrar

All students can meet one-to-one with a Learning Strategist for individualized support. 

• Faculty of Arts & Science Students – Book an appointment with an FAS on-location Learning Strategist through your College Registrar’s Office (links to all College Registrars) 
• Innis College Students - Connect with our on-location Learning Strategist  

Appointments focus on practical strategies that build on students’ strengths and preferences in the following areas:

IT Help 

Information Commons help desk provides IT support for faculty, staff and students.

• Address: Robarts Library, 130 St. George St., ground floor
• Email: help.desk@utoronto.ca
• Phone: 416-978-HELP (4357)

Quercus

• The Student Quercus Guide has information on how to navigate Quercus, access courses and download student mobile apps.
• The Quercus for Students Blog is written from a student’s perspective with lots of tips and helpful information.

Microsoft Office Downloads for UofT Students  

• Your UTmail+ account gives you access to full desktop and mobile versions of Microsoft Office to install on your personal devices. You may run Office on up to 5 machines (Mac or PC).
• You can also run the Office Mobile Apps (Word, Excel, Powerpoint) on up to 5 mobile devices (on various platforms).   

Office 365 ProPlus - Download instructions for Desktop and Mobile Devices