Skip to main content
Banner Image

FADIS

FADIS (Fine Art Digital Imaging System) is a content management system designed for the teaching, studying and researching of art, architecture and visual culture. FADIS combines the digital management of electronic resources with a courseware system.

LOOKING FOR IMAGES?

FADIS (Fine Art Digital Imaging System) is a content management system designed for the teaching, studying and researching of art, architecture and visual culture. FADIS combines the digital management of electronic resources with a courseware system and provides an intuitive interface that reflects higher educational teaching needs. The goal of FADIS is the creation of a shared common repository amongst participating institutions. FADIS is currently free to any participating institution contributing content to the collection. As most institutions with slide collections are now faced with the need to digitize and manage their transparency collections, FADIS provides an immediate solution along with a sophisticated toolset familiar to instructors teaching with visual material. There are no technical requirements for participating in FADIS, we offer to house and maintain digital assests and there are no server-side requirements or technical expertise required. We do expect participating institutions to manage their digital assests and user base. We will provide training and any technical help required.

In addition to managing digital image files, FADIS also delivers video and audio content. We are actively videotaping artists talks, lectures and colloquia and adding these to the collection. The current repository is over 140,000 digital objects.

Conceived and developed by Gordon Belray for the University of Toronto Libraries, the Department of Fine Art, University of Toronto

Connect to FADIS

What's New in FADIS?

New Sites Added:  Abbey of Saint Salvatore (Tuscany, Italy), Dijon Cathedral (France), Dundurn Castle (Hamilton, Canada), Kent Cathedral (England),

New World - Nouvelle France Collection several hundred images of early life in the New World, the watercolours by John White and prints from 16th and 17th century incunabula accompanying the accounts of the early voyages by the English, French, Spanish and Dutch have been added to FADIS.

Erich Matz Collection, East Asian Library, University of Toronto Early 20th century photographs of Germans in the colony of Tsingtao, China documenting life during WWI and POW life in Japan have been added to FADIS.

Russian Jews in China, Japan and Hollywood: The Leon Belasco (Berladsky) Family Photograph Collection Early 20th century photograph collection documenting the life of a Russian family living in Odessa and their move to Harbin, China and then to Hollywood. Donated by Prof. Lahusen, University of Toronto. Thic collection of photos, documents and postcards documents the childhood and family activites of Leonid or Leon Belasco, born in Odessa and later first violinist in the Tokyo Orchestra in Japan, and actor in Hollywood performing in the films Topper Takes a Trip (1938), Road to Morocco (1942), Casablanca (1942), Yankee Doodle Dandy (1942) and many more films. See http://movies.nytimes.com/person/5065/Leon-Belasco/biography 

Images from FADIS

Galatas (Crete), palace, 1700-1500 BC, Middle Minoan, J.C. Shaw Collection, FADIS.