Skip to main content

ESS102: Earth Science

Welcome

This guide is designed to connect researchers with earth science subject-specific resources.

Databases
Books
Exams
Writing & Citations
What is Plagiarism?
 
Try starting your search with these recommended databases:
Scopus A large abstract and index database of peer-reviewed sources with quality resources across the fields of science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
A subject-specific database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines.
Web of Science A database repository, housing numerous collections and providing access to scholarly resources across disciplines including: sciences, social sciences, arts, medicine and humanities.

Search Tips

Use Article Finder if you already know the specific article you are searching for. Enter key information such as Journal, Volume, Issue or Year.

Note: If you receive limited results, try to remove data (i.e. Article Title, Issue) from some of the fields and search again.

Article Finder: Enter Journal, Volume and Issue (library.utoronto.ca)

For more search options, click on the "Advanced Search" function from the library homepage next to "Articles".

Enter keywords, author, or publication title to search across multiple databases. Use the facets on the left to narrow your results by adding filters such as "Scholarly journals" or "Full text online". You may also choose to specify a format such as: "Journal Article", "Government Document" or "Map".

Advanced Article Search options: Scholarly journals, Search by All Fields, Author, Publication Title, Add Row (library.utoronto.ca)

If you receive limited results, try to broaden your search by removing filters, changing your keywords or removing a search row.

Looking for Scholarly Journals?

Scholarly Journals include reports or reviews of original research, analysis or experimentation and are typically written by scholars, researchers or experts in their particular discipline.

When searching using the University of Toronto library catalogue for article searches, you may filter your resources by "Scholarly Journals" by checking off this box from the filter selections.

Use the filters to select "Scholarly Journals" in article searches

 

Books

Tips & Tricks for Finding Books

When searching for books, combine your keywords using 'AND', 'OR', or 'NOT'.

For example, try searching for "forest conservation AND indigenous people" in the library catalogue to find results that combine both keywords.

.Catalog search for "forest conservation and indigenous people."

Let's look at the results of the search:

Catalog search display for "forest conservation and indigenous people." Results can be refined by library location, subject and other factors as noted in the left hand column.

 

Refine Results
 
Using the left menu bars, you can refine your search by library, subject matter, and geographical area.
If you find a book that you want, check that it is IN the library and take down the CALL NUMBER to find it in the library (see image below).
 
Note the subject list on the left.  Click 'view more' to see the aspects of forest conservation and indigenous people that the book covers.
 

Request an Item

If the item is not in the library, do not dismiss borrowing the book from another library.  This item is located at two libraries.  You can request items easily by clicking on request:

 Catalog display for the book "Voices from the forest." Attention is drawn to the libraries holding copies of this book as well as the tab that can be used to request this book.

On the following screen, enter your library card barcode number and PIN.  Choose intercampus delivery, select St. George campus, and specify the library you prefer to pick the book at.  Make sure to enter an email address that you use frequently as you will receive an email when the book arrives. 

Note: Make sure that you order the book AT LEAST 3 business days (preferably a week) before you need it.

Suggested Titles

 

Exams

Studying for an upcoming exam? Use the library's old exam repository to search or browse for exams related to specific courses.

Study Tips:

Here are some tips to help you study for upcoming tests or exams:

  • Start studying early
  • Review lecture notes frequently
  • Rewrite or type lecture or reading notes to help with memorization and comprehension
  • Make a study guide for yourself that integrates lecture and reading notes
  • Take short breaks from studying every hour to rest your eyes and move your body
  • Find a quiet, well lit place to study
  • Ask questions! Take advantage of time in class or office hours to ask your Professor or TA for clarification

Academic Success Resources:

 

Writing & Citations

Citation Guides - Online

  • For information on MLA or APA style guides, visit the OWL at Purdue.

Citation Guides - Print

The UofT Library has print copies of the APA, MLA, and Turabian guides:

The Writing Centre offers invaluable services to students including:

  • drop-in sessions
  • individual consultations
  • workshops
  • clinics
  • online writing handouts

 

What is Plagiarism?

Plagiarism is defined as "the wrongful appropriation and purloining, and publication as one's own, of the ideas, or the expression of the ideas ... of another." Broadly speaking, plagiarism is failing to give credit for any ideas or expressions of ideas that are not your own.

Plagiarism includes:

  • Direct plagiarism: Copying entire sentences or paragraphs from another source without crediting the source.
  • Mosaic plagiarism: Blending copied words, phrases or ideas in with your own writing without crediting the source.
  • Improper paraphrasing or summarizing: Putting an author's ideas into your own words without crediting the source.

For more information, please visit the "How Not to Plagiarize" page from the University Writing Centre.