Skip to main content

CTLA10: Personal Health and Optimal Learning

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Search the following popular databases (available from the University of Toronto Libraries) to locate scholarly articles on your topic. Watch Choosing Keywords to learn about brainstorming effective search terms.  Download full-text of articles from the library's databases.   TIP:   Don't pay for articles on Google!   The library provides free access.   If you have any trouble, please ask a librarian for assistance.

Is Your Journal Article Peer-Reviewed?

How do you know if an article is from a peer-reviewed journal? Some databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals. For other databases, you need to look up the title of the journal in Ulrich's Directory.

1. Go to Ulrich's:  Click to open Ulrich's.

 

2. Type the JOURNAL TITLE (not the article title) into the search box, and click the green search button.

 search ulrichs for journal title

3. In the search results, look for a referee jersey icon to indicate that a journal is refereed. Refereed means the same as peer reviewed.

look for referee jersey icon in search results

 

4. The Journal of Infectious Diseases IS peer reviewed.

Find Books

Search the library catalogue to find e-books, books at UTSC library, and request books from other U of T libraries.    Ask a librarian if you have any questions.  TIP:  Your T-card is your library card.  

 

Find Newspapers & Magazines

The library has multiple newspaper databases.   These databases allow you to search multiple newspapers at the same time, and provide you with far greater historical access (often decades) than you'd find on Google.  TIP:  When searching for newspaper articles, use 'real world' keywords that you'd expect to find in popular sources.  Example:   Specific people, places, things, events.

 

Find Course Reserves for CTLA10

Citation Management Tools

There are a wide variety of citation management tools available to you to save and organize your research, as well as cite sources in your assignments.     See below for details.    Assistance is available in the library.