Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

APS112T: Engineering Strategies & Practice

Handbooks

Handbooks give quick reference information about design, manufacturing, materials information and include data tables. To find handbooks use the library catalogue or an eBook collection like Knovel. eBooks can be accessed off campus with UTORid.

Below are examples of some engineering handbooks that can be accessed online with your UTORid:

Journal articles

Journal articles contain original research results which can be used to support design claims. Journal articles are found by searching databases which contain articles, conference proceedings and other scholarly sources. 

Technical search terms, instead of broad search terms, may give you more accurate results.

Use the databases below to find journal articles. The "Get it at U of T" button should open the full article. If it does not work, cut-and-paste the article title into the U of T article search.

Patents

A patent is protection granted by a national government for an invention. Patents show how an invention has a novel design or use. Find more information on patents in the guide below.

Books

To find books use the library catalogue or an eBook collection like Knovel. eBooks can be accessed off campus with UTORid.