Research guides: Health &amp; Society Resources @ UTSC: Home

Get Research Help

Your liaison librarian is always ready to help with library- and research-related questions. The Health & Society Liaison Librarian is Kathryn Barrett. Her contact information is available in the sidebar to the left side of the screen. You can email your questions to Kathryn, or request a one-on-one research help appointment with her (in person or online).

For times when Kathryn is unavailable, here are some other options for help with your research assignments:

UTSC Library Help
Submit a question by email, give us a call, or chat with us live!
Writing Support
Writing Support offers in-person help (drop-in sessions and individual consultations), workshops and clinics, online writing handouts, and more.

Course-Specific Library Guides

Top Resources: Databases & Policy Collections

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in nursing and health professions.
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centres.

Library Basics

Course Reserves
Instructors can make course readings available online through Quercus, the University's online learning management system, or as physical items that can be borrowed from the Course Reserve/Short Term Loan section at the UTSC Library.
Book a Study Room
The library has small- and medium-sized study rooms that can be booked via the Intranet and large group study rooms that are available on a first-come, first-serve basis.
Assignment Planner
The purpose of this planner is to help you break down your assignment or project into manageable steps and direct you to useful guides and services (particularly the Library and Writing Support). If you log in and supply an email address, it will also email you a reminder one week before the assignment is due.
Citation Guides (UTSC Writing Support)
Citation guides are also available in the UTSC Library's academic skills collection, found in the course reserves room.

Health & Society Resources @ UTSC

Health & Society Librarian

Ask Chat

Get Research Help

Course-Specific Library Guides

Top Resources: Databases & Policy Collections

Library Basics

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us