Skip to main content

Engineering eBooks at U of T

How to Search for Engineering eBooks in the Library Catalogue

Overview of eBook Collections

This table lists the eBook platforms, as well as the many engineering eBooks collections from specific publishers, available at University of Toronto Libraries. Click on the link to be brought directly to the eBook platform or collection. To view all UTL eBook resources, view the library-wide libguide. All the eBooks can be searched via the library catalogue - here is a brief video on how to do so.

For a more comprehensive overview of eBook platforms, click here.

 

 
Collection Subject Download
entire book? 
Download or print
PDF of a chapter?
Notes
       

 

Cambridge Books Online 
(Cambridge University Press)
Multidisciplinary No Yes Only titles with  'Puchased Access' icon can be accessed 
ebrary (*platform) Multidisciplinary Yes
DRM applies
Yes

1. Must create ebrary account 
to download material,
refer to these instructions

2. Bluefire reader app is recommended for viewing ebrary content on mobile devices.

EBSCOhost ebook collection
(*platform)
(Click on EBSCO - scroll down to 'E' -  
eBook collection)

Multidisciplinary No Yes 

# of pages for printing/downloading 
determined by publisher. To download: select 'Print', then email PDF file

Gale Virtual Reference Library   Multidisciplinary                      No Yes  
IEEE Xplore Engineering    No   Yes Not all books listed in collection are available with UTL's subscription

IGI Global
(includes Info-Sci books)

Multidisciplinary No Yes  
Knovel Biotechnology, engineering,
food science
No Yes  
My iLibrary
(*platform)
Multidisciplinary No Yes

Limit of page #s for printing/downloading determined by publisher, usually:
 30 pgs printed, 10 pgs downloaded

Oxford Reference Online Multidisciplinary    No Can print sections/definitions
PDF downloads not available
Not all books/entries listed in collection are available with UTL's subscription
Scholars Portal Books (*platform) Multidisciplinary Yes Yes SP has titles that can be borrowed for up to 72 hours. Refer to the FAQ on how to download these select titles. 
ScienceDirect Engineering, science, social sciences No Yes Click 'Show full-text available' on the left for a list of items that can be downloaded
Springer Multidisciplinary     No  Yes Use the 'Refine Your Search' on the left side after browsing or searching a keyword to select 'Books'
Taylor & Francis eBooks Multidisciplinary         Yes
in PDF, for any book that has 'Full Access'
Yes
printing only 
 

1. Chapters cannot be downloaded in separate files

2. When searching for a book using keywords, click the 'Full access only' box to receive results UTL has purchased.

Wiley Online Library Multidisciplinary No Yes

1. Unlocked padlock icon beside the chapter  indicates UTL has full-text access to the eBook

2. Use the Filter List on the right-hand side while searching/browsing, and under 'Publication Type' select 'Books'.