Research guides: Industrial Relations & Human Resources Library : Grey Literatures Resources

IRHR Grey Literature Resources

Policy Commons
The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Document Collection.
Google Custom Search of IRHR Research Centres and Professional Associations
Allows you to quickly search across several IR/HR websites for reports and other results.
PWR: work&labour news&research Newsletter

Economics

Economics Resources

Bank of Montreal Economic Forecasts
Economic Forecasts for Canada, United States, Provinces, International, and Commodities
Bank of Montreal Economic Publications
Industry analysis and research reports.
CIBC Economic Research Repository
Analysis, forecasts, and economic indicators.
Department of Finance Canada: Publications and Reports
"The Department of Finance Canada is responsible for the overall stewardship of the Canadian economy. This includes preparing the annual federal budget, as well as advising the Government on economic and fiscal matters, tax and tariff policy, social measures, security issues, financial stability and Canada’s international commitments." - Department of Finance Canada
Royal Bank of Canada Economy and Markets
"An in-depth analysis of the key drivers of economic activity in Canada and the US including a discussion of global factors that will affect these near term forecasts" - RBC Economics
Royal Bank of Canada Special Reports
"In-depth reports on key current economic issues and events of importance for Canada, the United States and some international economies." - RBC Economics
Toronto Dominion Bank Economics
"Analysis of economic performance covering the globe, with emphasis on Canada, the United States, Europe and Asia." Includes publications, research and commentaries. - TD Economics
Statistics Canada Economic Accounts
Provides data, tools, and reports.
Scotiabank Economic Publications
Includes worldwide, territory, and industry specific reports.

The Intelligent Economist's Annual Top 100 Economics Blogs

Intelligent Economist Top 100 Economics Blogs
Intelligent Economist Top 100 Economics Blogs list featuring a broad range of quality blogs in practically every economic discipline. You will also find blogs which focus on microeconomics, macroeconomics, and the economics of specific geographical regions.

Selected Canadian Economics Blogs

Economics for Public Policy
Miles Corak is a professor of labour economics with the City University of New York (CUNY) working on child rights, poverty, immigration, social and economic mobility, unemployment, and social policy. This site is about economics that matters for public policy for Canadians and for others.
The Globe and Mail's Economic Insights
Articles from The Globe and Mail focused on the Canadian economy.
The Monitor Magazine's Behind the Numbers
The Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives is an independent, non-partisan research institute concerned with issues of social, economic and environmental justice. Founded in 1980, the CCPA is one of Canada’s leading progressive voices in public policy debates.
The Progressive Economics Forum
A source of real-time commentary on Canadian economic policy issues from self-declared progressive economists.
Social Policy in Ontario
Aims to inform the public about current issues relating to social programs and policies in Ontario.
Worthwhile Canadian Initiative
Worthwhile Canadian Initiative is a self-proclaimed “mainly Canadian economics blog”. Written by a group of economists, topics include healthcare, finance, housing, and more.

Selected American Economics Blogs

Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR)
CEPR does a great job of presenting economic issues in an accurate and easily understandable manner, thus allowing the public to come to their own conclusions regarding economic policy.
Dangerous Economist
The Dangerous Economist is a great choice for beginners and students due to its well written and easy to understand explanations. Cyril Morong, a professor of economics at San Antonio College, takes current news stories and uses them to illustrate economic principles in action.
Econlife
Econlife is dedicated to connecting economics to everyday life. This easy to understand blog integrates economics with current events and history. They strive to make economics easy to understand and fun. Econlife is highly recommended for beginners
Economists for Equity at Berkeley
Economists for Equity at Berkeley goal is to "increase representation in economics by dismantling barriers to participation in our field and confronting bias."
FiveThirtyEight - Economics
Nate Silver is the founder and editor in chief of FiveThirtyEight and the author of “The Signal and the Noise: Why So Many Predictions Fail — But Some Don’t.”
Institute of New Economic Thinking
Founded in the wake of the financial crisis in 2009, the Institute for New Economic Thinking (INET) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization devoted to developing and sharing the ideas that can repair our broken economy and create a more equal, prosperous, and just society.
Liberty Street Economics (Federal Reserve Bank of New York)
Working within the Federal Reserve System, the New York Fed implements monetary policy, supervises and regulates financial institutions and helps maintain the nation's payment systems. Link is to blog entries on Labour Economics
Marginal Revolution
An incredibly popular blog, Marginal Revolution features articles, links, commentaries, and fascinating debates on the real world implications of important economic issues. Marginal Revolution was founded in 2003 by Professors Tyler Cowen and Alex Tabarrok of George Mason University.
Paul Krugman
New York Times writer Paul Krugman explores macroeconomics, trade, health care, social policy and politics.
Robert Reich
Robert Reich’s blogging style is best described as easy to understand, thought-provoking, and direct. A former secretary of labor for the Clinton administration, Reich was named by Time Magazine as one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the 20th century. He is currently Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at U.C. Berkeley and is the author of numerous books.
Undercover Economist
In Undercover Economist, writer Tim Harford provides unique insight by using his own life experiences to illustrate how economic issues affect daily life. Harford is a senior columnist for the Financial Times, has worked at Shell and World Bank, is the author of several books, and was a professor at Oxford University.

Selected International Blogs

Chris Blattman
Chris Blattman’s blog covers research and field studies in the area of economic poverty in developing countries.
Mish Talk: Global Economic Trend Analysis
Mish Talk is written by Mike “Mish” Shedlock, a successful investment advisor. His posts cover global economics and focus on macroeconomic trends around the world. Popular and highly praised, Mish Talk is a must read blog.
New Economics Foundation
An economy for the people, by the people. There has never been a greater need for a new economy. The New Economics Foundation exists to make it happen working with people to ignite change from below, combined with rigorous research to fight for change at the top.

Law Blogs

Unlike journal articles, blogs are not subject to a peer-review process - this means students should be extra diligent in evaluating theses sources before using them in their research assignments. These blogs have been provided by the IRHR library as a sources for student research into labour law, but have not been vetted for academic quality.

With this in mind, consider the 'CRAAP' test:

Currency: The timeliness of the information.
Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.
Authority: The source of the information
Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.
Purpose: The reason the information exist

For more information and critical evaluation techniques, see the U of T Essential Research Skills Guide.

Law Firm Blog/Website Aggregators (registration required)

Law Blog Compilations

Canadian Law Blogs List Employment and Labour Law
The Canadian Law Blogs List is an open directory listing of blogging lawyers, law librarians, marketers, IT professionals or paralegals in Canada. Link is to practice area for Labour and Employment Law
Canadian Law Blogs Search Engine (Slaw)
This website features a custom Google search engine which queries more than 450 Canadian law blogs listed on Lawblogs.ca and updated concurrently with the lawblogs.ca website.
CanLII Connects
CanLII Connects was created to make it faster and easier for legal professionals and the public to access high-quality legal commentary on Canadian court decisions.
Clawbies
The Canadian Law Blog Awards, a.k.a. the Clawbies, are a project started back in 2006 with the goal of highlighting great blogs published by the Canadian legal industry.
Wise Law Blog

Labour Law Blogs

Achkar Law
Baker & McKenzie
Blogue juridique Éditions Yvon Blais
Bow River Employment Law
Cavalluzzo
The Court
TheCourt.ca is the premiere source of commentary on, and analysis of, the work of the Supreme Court of Canada, including judgments, upcoming cases, current hearings, scholarly perspectives, practical insights, updates and more.
Devry Smith Frank Blog
Dutton Employment Law Blog
The Employer’s Edge
Employment & Human Rights Law in Canada
Filion Wakely Thorup Angeletti
First Reference
Global Workplace Insider
The Global Workplace Insider is a blog led by the global employment and labor team of Norton Rose Fulbright, designed to deliver diverse insight on legal and business developments and trends impacting employment and labor matters in various regions across the globe.
Hum Law Firm: Canadian Employment Law Blog
Labour Pains
A blog about employment law. Written by Sean P. Bawden, in-house employment lawyer.
Law of Work (David Doorey)
Breaking news, case summaries, commentary, and arguments on the law of work by Professor David Doorey of Toronto's York University.
The Lawyer's Daily
The Lawyer’s Daily provides Canadian legal news, analysis and current awareness for lawyers and legal professionals who need a real-time view on the shifting legal landscape. The Lawyer’s Daily provides the critical breaking daily news and digests free for all users.
Lecker and Associates
McCarthy Tétrault Employer Advisor
Monkhouse Law Blog
Rubin Thomlinson Blog
Rudner Law Blog
Slaw
With perspectives from academia, law firms, non-profits, regulatory bodies and beyond, Slaw explores how law is practised, how it’s taught, how the industry is changing, and what the future might hold. Please see Canadian Law Blogs Search Engine (Slaw) for Slaw's search engine of Canadian law blogs.
Stikeman Elliot Blog
Tierney Stauffer LLP Law Blog
Toronto Employment Law & Workplace Immigration Blog
Toronto Employment Lawyer Blog
WSIB blog

Think Tanks

Canadian Think Tanks

Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada
The Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada (APF Canada) is a not-for-profit organization focused on Canada's relations with Asia. Their mission is to be Canada's catalyst for engagement with Asia and Asia's bridge to Canada.
Broadbent Institute
The Broadbent Institute is Canada’s leading progressive, independent organization championing change through the promotion of democracy, equality, and sustainability and the training of a new generation of leaders.
Canadian Global Affairs Institute
The Canadian Global Affairs Institute is Canada’s most credible source of expertise on global affairs, their work sparks impassioned nation-wide discussions and debates that are designed to help Canadians better understand their role on the world stage.
Cardus
Cardus is a non-partisan, faith-based think tank and registered charity dedicated to promoting a flourishing society through independent research, robust public dialogue, and thought-provoking commentary.
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
The Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives is an independent, progressive voice concerned with issues of social and economic justice.
C.D. Howe Institute
The C.D. Howe’s research aims at understanding and providing options to address four key challenges central to Canadians’ prosperity: promoting stronger economic growth, ensuring fiscal and financial stability, fostering opportunities for individuals, and enhancing the effectiveness of our institutions.
Centre for International Governance Innovation
The Centre for International Governance Innovation is an independent, non-partisan think tank with an objective and uniquely global perspective.
Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity
The Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity (CSDD) at Queen’s University is an interdisciplinary Centre aimed at advancing research and teaching within the areas of democracy and diversity.
Conference Board of Canada
The Conference Board of Canada is a Canadian not-for-profit think tank dedicated to researching and analyzing economic trends, as well as organizational performance and public policy issues.
The Council of Canadians
The Council of Canadians is Canada’s leading social action organization, mobilizing a network of 60 chapters across the country. They advocate for clean water, fair trade, green energy, public health care, and a vibrant democracy.
Douglas–Coldwell Foundation
The Douglas–Coldwell Foundation is a left-wing Canadian think tank devoted, in the words of its slogan, to "promoting education and research into social democracy."
Fraser Institute
The Fraser Institute produces research about government actions in areas that deeply affect Canadians’ quality of life such as taxation, health care, aboriginal issues, education, economic freedom, energy, natural resources and the environment.
Global Risk Institute
The Global Risk Institute is a preeminent source of ideas on the management of emerging risks and trends for financial services organizations.
IEDM/MEI
The MEI stimulates debate on public policies in Quebec and across Canada by proposing reforms based on market principles and entrepreneurship.
Institute for Canadian Citizenship
The Institute for Canadian Citizenship (ICC) delivers programs and special projects that inspire inclusion, create opportunities to connect, and encourage active citizenship.
Institute for Research on Public Policy
The IRPP seeks to improve public policy in Canada by generating research, providing insight and informing debate on current and emerging policy issues facing Canadians and their governments.
MacDonald-Laurier Institute
Canada's leading independent, nationally focused public policy think tank based in Ottawa.
The Mackenzie Institute
The Mackenzie Institute is a globally recognized Canadian-based public policy institute for research and comment on issues impacting political and social stability, specifically terrorism, organized violence, and security.
The North-South Institute
The North-South Institute is Canada’s first non-partisan policy research institution dedicated to international development.
Open Canada
OpenCanada is a digital publication sitting at the intersection of public policy, scholarship and journalism. They produce multimedia content to explain, analyze and tell stories about the increasingly complex and rapidly shifting world of foreign policy and international affairs.
Polaris Institute
The Institute works with various social movements and community-based groups to develop methods, strategies and tactics for effectively challenging public policy making on vital economic, environmental and social justice issues with a particular focus on unmasking the corporate power that lies behind governments today.
Public Policy Forum
The Public Policy Forum builds bridges among diverse participants in the policy-making process and gives them a platform to examine issues, offer new perspectives and feed fresh ideas into policy discussions.
Social Research and Demonstration Corporation
The Social Research and Demonstration Corporation (SRDC) is a non-profit research organization, created specifically to develop, field test, and rigorously evaluate new programs.
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) is the federal research funding agency that promotes and supports postsecondary-based research and research training in the humanities and social sciences.

American Think Tanks

Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Their mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.
McKinsey & Company
The McKinsey Global Institute is a research organization which publishes reports on management topics, and has authored influential books on management.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research
"The W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research, a private, not-for-profit, nonpartisan, independent research organization, has studied policy-related issues of employment and unemployment since its founding in 1945." - www.upjohn.org/about

International Organizations

Ethical Toy Program
The ICTI Ethical Toy Program is the global standard for ethical toy manufacture.
Fair Labor Association
FLA is a collaborative effort of universities, civil society organizations and socially responsible companies dedicated to protecting workers’ rights around the world.
Global Reporting Initiative
GRI helps businesses and governments worldwide understand and communicate their impact on critical sustainability issues such as climate change, human rights, governance and social well-being. This enables real action to create social, environmental and economic benefits for everyone.
Global Unions
Global Unions is the partnership between the International Trade Union Confederation, Global Union Federations and the Trade Union Advisory Committee to the OECD.
IndustriALL Global Union
IndustriALL Global Union represents 50 million workers in 140 countries in the mining, energy and manufacturing sectors and is a force in global solidarity taking up the fight for better working conditions and trade union rights around the world.
International Labor Rights Forum
ILRF works with trade unions, faith-based organizations, and community groups to support workers and their families. They lead on initiatives such as making apparel factories safe in Bangladesh, stopping the exploitation of children in the cotton fields of Uzbekistan, and so on.
International Labour Organization
The ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States, to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all people.
International Organisation of Employers
Simply stated, their vision is to create a sustainable economic environment around the world, promoting free enterprise that is fair and beneficial to both business and society.
International Trade Union Confederation
The ITUC’s primary mission is the promotion and defence of workers’ rights and interests, through international cooperation between trade unions, global campaigning and advocacy within the major global institutions.
LabourStart
LabourStart is an online news service maintained by a global network of volunteers which aims to serve the international trade union movement by collecting and disseminating information -- and by assisting unions in campaigning and other ways.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Their goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all.
United Nations Global Impact
The United Nations Global Impact is helping to align business with ten principles on human rights, labour, environment and anti-corruption, and to catalyze actions in support of broader UN goals.
Voluntary Principles on Security and Human Rights
The Voluntary Principles on Security and Human Rights are a set of principles designed to guide companies in the extractive sector in maintaining the safety and security of their operations within an operating framework that encourages respect for human rights.
World Bank
The World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries.
World Economic Forum
The World Economic Forum is the International Organization for Public-Private Cooperation.
World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. The goal is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

Universities Doing IR/HR Research

Cornell University ILR School Faculty & Research
Each of ILR's centers and institutes focuses on a particular workplace-related theme and provide an umbrella of support for broad research programs involving ILR faculty. Publications include the ILR Journal, ILR Press, and DigitalCommons@ILR
London School of Economics and Political Science Employment Relations and Human Resource Management Faculty Research Group
The Employment Relations and Human Resource Management Faculty Research Group conducts research on and teaching in the institutional and strategic context of work and employment
Massachusetts Institute for Technology Institute for Work and Employment Research
At the Institute for Work and Employment Research (IWER), faculty from MIT Sloan and other departments across the Institute are educating a new generation of researchers to reinvent the ways we work. For access to research click on the Research tab.
McMaster University School of Labour Studies
Faculty conduct research on domestic and international labour issues. Leaders in community-engaged scholarship, collaborating with unions, community organizations and policy-makers on research that will help make work better for everyone.
Princeton University Industrial Relations Section
Queen's University Employment Relations
Queen’s Employment Relations prepares students for a meaningful career in Employment Relations, Human Resources and Labour Management. By connecting today’s top researchers and policy advisors to tomorrow’s leaders, Queen’s Employment Relations is shaping the world of work - making it a better place for all Canadians.
Stanford Center on Poverty and Inequality
The Stanford Center on Poverty and Inequality is committed to providing research, policy analysis, and training on issues of poverty and inequality.
Université de Montréal School of Industrial Relations (ÉRI)
The Université de Montréal School of Industrial Relations (ÉRI) is a major research hub, the leader among Canadian universities for research grants and publications in its field.
University of California, Berkeley. Institute for Research on Labour & Employment
Innovative analysis and research. We support world-class research to improve workers’ lives, communities, and society.
University of California Los Angeles Institute for Research on Labour and Employment
Click on Publications to access: IRLE Research Briefs on labor and employment issues in California;The Hollywood Diversity Report; New Books from IRLE Staff; IRLE Publications; State of the Unions Reports; Labor Center Books and Reports
University of Toronto, Centre for Industrial Relations & Human Resources (CIRHR) Research
The CIRHR brings together academics from many different disciplines to conduct research on all aspects of the workplace and employment relationships. Includes Research & Publications by Faculty & PhDs; Completed PhD Theses and Faculty Publication Lists
University of Toronto TSpace
University of Toronto's research bank. Showcases and preserves the scholarly work of the U of T community, and makes theses and dissertations publicly accessible online.
York University, the Centre for Research on Work and Society (CRWS)
An Organized Research Unit (ORU) of York University, the Centre for Research on Work and Society (CRWS) addresses the many issues facing labour that arise from the current volatile political transformation of the Canadian world of work. Click on research tab to access. Online journal "Just Labour" also available (ceased publication in 2014)
York University Professor Leah Vosko
Leah F. Vosko, FRSC, is Professor and a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in the Political Economy of Gender & Work at York University. Her research examines employment standards enforcement and deportability among workers labouring transationally.

Government Agencies

Statistics Canada - Labour Research
A repository for the most recent Statistics Canada publications on labour, organized by most recent.

IR/HR Websites

IR/HR Websites
A list of useful IR/HR websites compiled by the CIRHR Library.

Industrial Relations & Human Resources Library

IRHR Grey Literature Resources

Economics

Law Blogs

Think Tanks

International Organizations

Universities Doing IR/HR Research

Government Agencies

IR/HR Websites

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us