Research guides: Medieval Studies: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

To find articles in scholarly journals, the best place to go is an article database. To find articles related to your subject area, go to www.library.utoronto.ca/, click the By Subject A to Z link on the right, and scroll down to your subject area (i.e. Medieval Studies). You’ll find a list of databases containing scholarly articles, as well as other online resources such as encyclopedias and research guides.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB).
- This link opens in a new window
(1967 - present)
IMB is the major article database for medieval studies. Although the database can be tricky to use, it includes features--such as a browsable range of subject terms and a manuscript index--that are well worth exploring.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
- This link opens in a new window
(1842 - present)
This database of books, articles and book reviews related to medieval and early modern Europe covers items written in the early 20th century. While not as in-depth or wide-ranging as the International Medieval Bibliography, this user-friendly source is good for book reviews.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials.
- This link opens in a new window
Available online (1949 – present)
Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Includes a “Scripture Reference” search which enables one to look for materials on a particular scriptural passage. Now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. For Catholic journal articles published between 1930 and 1980 use the print version of Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (St. Michael's 1st Floor Reference Area - AI 3 .C3).
Historical Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
(1842 - present)
Although Historical Abstracts covers only the late Middle Ages (from 1495 onwards), it is one of the best history databases at UofT. Moreover, unlike the International Medieval Bibliography, it is relatively easy to use. Most entries include brief article summaries, along with GET IT! links that tell you if UofT has the article or not.