Judaism

2nd edition. Detroit : Macmillan Reference, 2007.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The standard multi-volume English-language encyclopedia of Jewish studies. Includes articles on all aspects of Judaism throughout the world.

Edited by Judith R. Baskin.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2011.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

Edited by Adele Berlin.
2nd edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The scope of this work is Jewish religion. It includes a much larger number of articles than Neusner's Encyclopedia of Judaism, but the articles are much shorter. Includes some bibliographical references.

Edited by Jacob Neusner, Alan J. Avery-Peck, and William Scott Green.
2nd edition. Boston: Brill, 2005. 4 volumes.
This encyclopedia is specifically about the religious aspects of Judaism; it does not include articles on non-religious historical or cultural aspects. Each of the 230 articles is an in-depth essay on a particular topic.

Edited by Cyrus Adler. New York: Funk and Wagnalls, 1901-1906. 12 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue
Although this work is now over one hundred years old, many of the articles are still useful. It should, however, be used with caution.

Edited by Edward Kessler and Neil Wenborn.
New York: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Over 700 brief articles on events, institutions, movements, people, places, and publications. No bibliographical references.

Edited by Norman Roth.
New York: Routledge, 2003.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
156 essay-length articles on people, places, and events. Includes many articles on Christian-Jewish and Muslim-Jewish relations.

Edited by Glenda Abramson.
New York: Routledge, 2005.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Biographical articles about Jewish writers, artists, and musicians.

Biographical articles about Jewish women from biblical times to the present.