It is important to verify news for accuracy and currency, as well as bias. Who is writing it? For what purpose? Who is the audience?

Below are some news resources that may assist you in your research. Remember to find other resources to support news stories, where possible. For more information (including access to the Toronto Star and the Globe and Mail), refer to the Newspapers research guide.

Factiva

Global news resource focused primarily on business.

World News Connection

Also contains conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, Open Source Center analyses, blogs, gray literature, and non-classified technical reports.

Canadian Newsstand

Provides access to major Canadian newspapers, including many dailies.

Alternative Press Index

A database containing articles from over 300 alternative publications worldwide. Many publications are considered radical and/or leftist. Coverage for this database begins in 1991. For historical material, see the Alternative Press Index Archive (link below).

Alternative Press Index Archive

A database containing articles from over 700 alternative, radical, and/or leftist interdisciplinary publications worldwide. There is a focus on the theory and practice of radical social change. Coverage for this database is from 1969 until 1991, when Alternative Press Index begins (link above).

Alternative News Sources

A listing from www.world-newspapers.com of alternative news publications. This list covers a variety of topics, including (but not limited to) economics, politics, and terrorism. In addition to listing alternative news publications, there is an option to filter all news publications by country and subject area.

Association of Alternative Newsmedia (AAN) Publications

A listing of alternative publications in North America. The majority of publications listed are American. Links available to all online publications and options to filter by geography and circulation numbers.

ProPublica

An independent, not-for-profit organization focused on investigative journalism. ProPublica reporters have won Pulitzer Prizes for National Reporting for their work with the organization. In addition to investigative news stories, a blog, and other reports, ProPublica contains a section of Tools & Data where some of their stories are presented visually with interactive components, such as maps and charts.