Research guides: South Asian studies: Diaspora

Library Catalogue

try a subject search for "Diaspora" or "Emigration and immigration" and your country of interest
useful subject headings:

Asian American Drama
- online collection of Asian-American/Canadian drama
- primary focus is East Asian, but South Asian authors also included
- Access limited to University of Toronto community only
Indian Opinion (World Newspaper Archive)
- published in Gujarati, Hindi, Tamil, English
- covers period 1903-1922

Bangla Stories (London School of Economics/University of Cambridge)
- interviews with people who left Bengal after Indepdence in 1947
- includes background information about the Bengal Diaspora
Black Presence: Asian & Black History in Britain, 1500-1850
- digital exhibition of records held by National Archives
Canada Tibet Committee
- independent non-governmental organisation of Tibetans and non-Tibetans living in Canada
- resources and links for advocacy, human rights, government, news
Tibetan Women's Association
- includes books, reports, magazine, news and media resources
The Komagata Maru Incident Project (The University of British Columbia)
- a comprehensive portal for understanding the Komagata Maru incident
- primary documents, oral histories, private archives, artisitic endeavours, and interviews

South and Southeast Asian Literature in English This link opens in a new window
- online collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas
- Access limited to University of Toronto community only

Diaspora Studies
- electronic journal
- 2010+
- Access limited to University of Toronto community only