There are many other ways to get HELP finding material for your papers. Just ask us.
These tools allow you to search for articles, reports and books by topic across a large number of different journals and document sets. This is the most targeted way to search for articles and other documents.
Lot's of urban studies articles show up in GEOBASE. This is an international journal index which also includes many Canadian and even local Toronto urban studies topics.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
IBSS is a broad based social sciences journal index that goes a long way back in time in its coverage. You will find urban studies articles in this database and some of them will deal with Canada.
- Sociological Abstracts
Urban studies articles are included in this sociological journal index. Remember that the authors indexes in this resource will be looking at city issues from a sociological perspective. International.
- Proquest Newsstand
Includes the major international daily newspapers with full text of articles back to the early '80s.
- OECD iLibrary
contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) since 1998.
Muniscope is a unique database of articles and reports on municipal topics in Ontario. Use Muniscope to find citations to documents, some of which you will find freely available on the web and some of which will be held at the U of T libraries and elsewhere.
These are great tools with which to start your research.
- Search "All" button
The All button on the library's home page is a great place to start your search because it includes our library catalogue and many of our databases all in one shot. Results will display categorized into books, journal articles, etc.
- Library catalogue
The library catalogue tells you what we hold here at the University of Toronto Libraries. You will find the catalogue under the red "Catalogue" tab on the libraries' home page.
Summon is a powerful search engine that searches across many journals in a multitude of disciplines. Articles included in Summon will include links to take you to those items which we hold here at U of T. You will fund Summon under the "Articles" tab on the library home page.