Skip to main content

Computer Science

A research guide to help you in finding books and other materials pertaining to computer science.

Find Books

KEYWORD SEARCHING

  1. Select anywhere from the drop down menu
  2. Type keywords that describe your topic

 

EXAMPLES:

java debugging

pearce windows

relational OR oracle (using the Boolean Search in the Advanced Search screen)

TIP: Use or for synonyms. It You will find records containing either term in any field. This can ONLY be done using the Boolean Search in the Advanced Search Screen.   

relational AND Codd (using the Boolean Search in the Advanced Search screen)

TIP: Use and to narrow search by more than one search term. You will find records containing both term

SUBJECT SEARCHING

There are several ways to search by subject.

1. Start off with a subject search under the general subject area: 

  1. select subject from the drop-down menu in the "Catalogue" search box
  2. type a general subject, e.g., neural networks
  3. choose a subheading from the list:

 

neural networks computer science
neural networks computer science canada congresses
neural networks computer science case studies
neural networks computer science congresses
neural networks computer science design and construction
neural networks computer science european union countries
neural networks computer science handbooks manuals etc
neural networks computer science industrial applications
neural networks computer science industrial applications congresses

2. You can narrow the results of a keyword search by subject:

  1. Do a keyword search (see above).
  2. Narrow the results by picking from a list of subjects listed under the "Refine Results" panel on the left hand side of the page.

3. If you find a book you like in your search, you can search for more books on a similar subject:

For example, to look for books on software testing, you can seach those two terms as keywords in any field. Then, from your search results,

  • Choose one good book (e.g., The art of software testing by Glenford Myers) and click on the title of the book to get more detailed information
  • Click on the 'Subjects' tab and view the subjects listed. You can click on them to find more books on your topic.
  • You can also make a note of them for future searches. This can be a good way to overcome terminology problems by using synonyms to expand your search. In this example, the subject heading 'Debugging in computer science' provides useful synonyms to 'testing' or 'troubleshooting'.

 

OTHER TIPS:

Once you have conducted a search, you may refine your search results by using the "Refine Results" panel on the left hand side of the screen. You may refine your search results by author, subject geographical area, date, format (i.e. books or journals), language, year of publication, and genre (i.e. handbooks, electronic books, etc.).

 

Books in most U of T Libraries, including Engineering & Computer Science Library, are arranged on the shelves using the Library of Congress Classification System. This system arranges books on the same topic together on the bookshelves.

For example, the book C++ Coach : essentials for introductory programming by Jeff Salvage, has a call number  

QA76.73 . C153 S25 2001 

In this example:

 

  • QA76.73 .C153 S25 2001 corresponds to all programming languages,
  • QA76.73 .C153 S25 2001 corresponds to C++ programming language specifically, and
  • QA 76.73 .C153 S25 2001 corresponds to the book by author Salvage on C++ programming.

You can therefore find all other books on C++ programming by walking to the QA76.73 .C153 area.

Here are some sample computer sciences topics and their corresponding call numbers:

 

 

:: QA76.15 Dictionaries and encyclopedias
:: QA76.58 Parallel processing. Parallel computers
:: QA76.59
Mobile computing

 

:: QA76.5915 Ubiquitous computing
:: QA76.592 Wearable computers

 

 

 

:: QA76.6 Programming , e.g.,  

 

:: QA76.612 Constraint programming

 

:: QA76.62 Functional programming
:: QA76.63 Logic programming
:: QA76.64 Object-oriented programming

 

:: QA76.642 Parallel programming
:: QA76.65 Visual programming  

 


:: QA76.73.A-Z Programming languages , e.g.,
:: QA76.73 .C153 C++ programming language
:: QA76.73 .J38 Java programming language

 


:: QA76.76.A-Z Special topics, A-Z , e.g.,
:: QA76.76.C65 Compilers   
:: QA76.76.S73 Standards for software  
 

 

:: QA76.8.A-Z Special computers, computer systems, and microprocessors. By name, A-Z e.g.
:: QA76.8.I12 IBM 360    
:: QA76.87 Neural computers. Neural networks
:: QA76.88 Supercomputers. High performance computing

 

 

 

:: QA76.9.A-Z Other topics, A-Z , e.g.,  
:: QA76.9.A25 Access control. Computer security
:: QA76.9.A3 Adaptive computing
:: QA76.9.A73 Architecture, Computer
:: QA76.9.A955 Automatic hypothesis formation
:: QA76.9.A97 Autonomic computing
:: QA76.9.C55 Client/server computing  
:: QA76.9.D26 Database design
:: QA76.9.D3 Database management

 

 

 
 
University of Toronto Libraries Logo
 
 
 
 
 
Loading

Handbooks, encyclopedias and dictionaries

Loading

Get Help - Benjamin

  Your Librarian: Benjamin WalshHeadshot of Benjamin Walsh

  Engineering & Computer Science Library
  10 King's College Road, Room 2402

  Image of an envelope Email

  Image of a telephone 416-946-0389

  Subjects: Aerospace StudiesComputer Science, Civil EngineeringElectrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering Science, Environmental Engineering, and Mineral & Mining Engineering 


  Engineering & Computer Science LibrarySanford Fleming Building

  Engineering & Computer Science Library
  10 King's College Road, Room 2402

  Image of an envelope Email

  Image of a telephone 416-978-6578

  Website  /   Hours  /  ECSL Research Guides 

Credits

Compiled by Lisa Archibald. Adapted from a my.library guide (Computer Science Research Guide) written by Cristina Sewerin. Updated by Lynn Li, Angela Henshilwood (2009), and Michelle Spence. Maintained by Benjamin Walsh.