Research guides: Education: Children's Literature: Additional Resources

Selecting age and grade appropriate children's literature

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database is designed to assist teachers in finding age and grade appropriate children's literature. The database includes book reviews, lists of award winners, and some additional teaching resources (lesson plans, activities, etc.).

To find out if a title in the Children's Literature Comprehensive Database is available at OISE, copy and paste the title of the book into the library catalogue.

Other resources for selecting children's literature

Canadian Children's Books by Raymond E. Jones; Jon C. Stott
Call Number: CR 819.9282 S888C J78C
Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Handbook of Children's Literature by Julia L. Mickenberg (Editor); Lynne Vallone (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge Companion to Children's Literature by M. O. Grenby (Editor); Andrea Immel (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009

Other Websites and Resources

Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
Helpful database designed by a reference librarian at California State University.
Diverse BookFinder
A database of picture books featuring Indigenous people and people of colour. Not all books in the database are recommended for use in the classroom.
Osborne Collection of Early Children’s Books at Toronto Public Library
80,000 rare and notable modern children's books: 1) Osborne Collection of books published to the end of 1910 2) The Lillian H. Smith Collection of modern notable titles 3)The Canadiana Collection of materials written, published, or substantially related to Canada.
Children's Book Bank
"The Children’s Book Bank is a registered charity that supports childhood literacy by providing free books and literacy support to children in low-income neighbourhoods in the Toronto area"
The Canadian Children's Book Centre Library
"The Canadian Children’s Book Centre's Toronto office houses a reference collection of almost every Canadian children’s book published since 1976. Our library staff is dedicated to answering your questions about the world of Canadian children's books and publishing"
Children's Book Radio
A podcast and Children’s Book Directory dedicated to sharing children’s books!

Education: Children's Literature

Selecting age and grade appropriate children's literature

Other resources for selecting children's literature

Other Websites and Resources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us