Research guides: HIS494H5: Advanced Topics in the History of the Americas: US Politics and Culture in the 1970s: Foundations, Foundational Resources

United States Reference Sources

Reference sources can help you understand issues, events, and people involved in your studies. This knowledge can assist with assignments and searches for additional information and primary sources.

⚈ Concise Information:

Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics
— Introduction to the Watergate Era (1968–1979)
— The Watergate Era (1968–1979)
— Introduction to the Internet Age (1980–Present)
— The Internet Age (1980–Present)

⚈ In-depth Resources (Primary and) Secondary Readings:

Oxford Research Encyclopedias - American History
Each entry includes a summary, primary and secondary sources, and further reading.

Oxford Bibliographies (Sample Entries)

★ Oxford Bibliographies Online provides an introduction (overview) for each entry in company with annotated bibliographies. This platform helps you find primary sources and secondary sources, including scholarly books, chapters, and articles.

Oxford Bibliographies' subject areas that are relevant to this course vary.

Watch the following video to take full advantage of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

How to Use Oxford Bibliographies Online

★ Oxford Bibliographies Online provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find primary sources and secondary sources, such as scholarly books, chapters, and articles.

Click and login with UTORID.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

0:00 -- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool, not for citing
1:35 -- Simple Search
2:46 -- India 'Mutiny' and 'Revolution,' 1857-1858 (entry) as an example
4:34 -- Finding Primary Sources and Secondary Sources
8:23 -- Get Help

Origin of Words

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
To take advantage of OED, take a look at the Video guides
Entries in the OED are supported by quotation evidence with real examples of words in use shown throughout the written record.
The primary function of OED quotations is to illustrate the way a word or sense is used through its history from its earliest use to the present day or, in the case of obsolete words and senses, the last period during which it was in use.