Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

Topic Search 

for books about Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name):

• e.g., Billy Wilder, Ida Lupino, etc.

for books about Individual films (Search as above; use last name, first name):

• e.g., double indemnity, "Out of the Past",  etc.
• Combine director and film title e.g., Lupino AND "The Hitch-Hiker" 

for film studios (headings vary; search as above):

• e.g., "Fox Film Noir”, Warner AND "film noir"

Browse the physical shelves with call numbers: 

Browse the following call number ranges in Robarts Library and in Innis College Library:

• PN1995.9 .F54 (for scholarly books) or use LibrarySearch to view items will this call number 

• PS3505 .A3113 (for James M. Cain hard-boiled novels)

Search the online catalogue using keywords

Use the search on UTL's homepage or use research databases

• Search the name of a director, actor, or creator's name or film title. Search online for Billy Wilder
• Use "film noir" and limit to Online. Search online
• Use "film noir" and limit format to
  • Books
  • Artilces
  • Video/Film. Search online

Search for Film Noir Films

• Streaming Video with UofT
• Open Access and Public Domain Media 
  • Internet Archive - Film Noir
  • Open Culture and Film Noir Media

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO): These links will take you to annotated bibliographies that highlight key resources (books, book chapters, essays, articles, reviews) on the topic. Look up the resources using the UofT LIbraries system or contact Cinema Studies Librarian, Kate Johnson if you need help in accessing the materials.  

Senses of Cinema

• Great Directors - biographies, bibliographies, filmographies

Film Studies for Free 

• Studies of Film Noirishness, with Love 

British Film Institute 

• Modern Noir (1999)
• Gangsters (2002)

How to Find Journal Articles

• How do I find an article by title in LibrarySearch?

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• EBSCO
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• *American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog (1893-1975) contains detailed production information about specific films, as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (i.e. New York Times), trade & industry publications (i.e. Variety), popular magazines (i.e. Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay), and review publications (i.e. Monthly Film Bulletin) among others.
• FIAF international Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) 
• *Film Index International (1900-present) includes directors who a) have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration and was released between 1928 and 1965, and b) have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-present)

*There are no direct links to online content from these sources. See How to Find Journal Articles above, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.