Research guides: WGS350H5: Critical Race Theory in Women and Gender Studies: Finding Articles

What type of information are you using?

Your research paper may require you to consult a wide range of sources.

To locate information on your topic you will use a selection of course readings, newspaper articles and popular sources to identify the media coverage and reaction, then you will be looking for scholarly articles to support your analysis.

You may find these sources help you identify the type of material you have found as you search for information.

Canadian Databases

CBCA Complete
Comprehensive database for information on Canadian topics. CBCA (Canadian Business and Current Affairs) Complete combines content from four specialized databases, including CBCA Business, CBCA Current Events, CBCA Education and CBCA Reference. Subject coverage is broad and covers academic information, business, social sciences, the arts, science, and current events. CBCA Complete indexes journals, popular magazines and newspapers, approximately 95% of which are published in Canada.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)
[Gale] indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward
America: History and Life
The major source for United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including popular culture, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, and politics.

Women's Studies

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about women in over 200 countries covering topics such as domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender and equity, family and reproductive health, and human rights.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as "GLBT Life". Index to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender literature, with full text for some important GLBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. Disciplines covered by GLBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.

Across the Disciplines

Sociological Abstracts
The major index to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
A major index to journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.